+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Display driver has stopped responding.......

Default Display driver has stopped responding.......

This is the laptop I'm using http://support.gateway.com/s/noteboo...9/P79sp3.shtml
    windows 7, 64 bit extreme dual-core processor 4 gigs of ram

Since I started playing rift in beta, at random my screen would black out and come back with this error message

"Display driver NVIDIA Windows Kernel Mode Driver, Version 266.58 and has Stopped responding and has Successfully recovered"

Since, then this message has become more frequent and been happening even while waiting in queue, and window is minimized, so far if game is closed completely i haven't seen this problem except for once.

This is the latest driver for my card and the old driver was uninstalled.
    is my graphics card dying due to the overheating caused by rift? or is there some software issue?
    I contacted Gateway customer support and he instructed me to Do a windows recovery,
    I haven't done so as I'm unconvinced this will solve my issue.
    Last edited by Phantam; 02-27-2011 at 01:48 PM.

anyone have any information? this is now happening to frequent to play properly or even at all :/
    Only now im not getting the error messages just blacks out and then 2 secs and comes back
    Last edited by Phantam; 02-27-2011 at 02:29 PM.

I'm having the exact same problem waiting for Devs to acknowledge 100s of compaints.

My GPU was crashing, game would freeze and then go blank, and I'd get Driver has been reset error in windows task bar, of course game would crash.

This happened 6 times, not before but after SP1 RTM was installed. It's gone away since uninstalling it.

http://www.google.com/search?sourcei...9+game+crashes

Lot of stuff going on, now if you aren't using SP1...

What's your power settings in Windows?

Try High Performance..

Here's from an old post of mine in this forum: