+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Constant crashes...

Soulwalker

Default Constant crashes...

Hello,

I've had problems with the game crashing since I started playing, which was back in closed beta 5 I believe and by now I've pretty much tried everything I can think of, but the problems still persist. No one else seems to have the same problem either and no one I've asked has known how to fix it, that includes the Trion support lol which gave me completely useless replies.
    Basically, the game just hangs for a few seconds (screen freezes and sound loops) and then crashes to desktop, after which I get the "rift has crashed, send bug report and restart the game or exit" window. The crashes occur quite often and annoy the hell out of me. Makes me die a lot ingame where I normally wouldn't, and completely messes up my pvp matches and such. Also just a major waste of time.

Here's my PC specs:
    Windows XP 32bit
    ATI HD4670
    2gb RAM
    Dual core 2GHz (weak I know but enough for the game anyway)
    ~300gb HDD + 1TB external HDD
    And no currently I can't upgrade.

I've noticed that most of the crashes usually happen when one of the following is on-screen:
    * Fire effects (spells like Fiery Burst, buffs, dots, or anywhere in the world)
    * Various spells, not certain which ones
    * When the soul window is open (crashes very often)
    * When an inventory or shop window is open (crashes occasionally)
    * Sometimes just pretty randomly

So what I can assume, it seems to be mostly about particle or lighting effects and is probably a graphics card issue. I've tried loads of stuff but nothing seems to fix it...

* Redownloaded, reinstalled on different HDD's and partitions like 4 times now.
    * Ran recovery.
    Nothing so it's definitely not a corrupt files issue. Didn't think it was anyway, I have a very good internet connection and don't really get corrupted files.
    * Installed latest ATI drivers.