+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Okay, building a PC...what do you think?

Telaran

Default Okay, building a PC...what do you think?

UPDATE: I just wanted to let everyone who helped me out with this PC build that I finally built it and it kicks so much ***. I got everything at Micro Center, spent $700 on the dot (taxes and all), and built the damn thing successfully. I even ran into a few problems that I was able to fix myself: MSI motherboard was DOA, took it back and got an Asus....MUCH happier with it, better ports on it too. Also had a ****-tastic case (Vortex?) that I took back last night to change out for a CM Storm, WAY better case. The case part kind of sucked though since I had to pull everything out.

Anyway, after building it, dealing with the problems I had, and playing Rift at max settings with it, I am so glad I did this....I feel like a pro-builder, ha. Thanks again!

I know this thread comes up a lot but like many others I'm a first time builder. My planned budget is $500-$700 without a monitor/keyboard/mouse. This is the build I have come up with but I'm a little over budget. I'm hoping you guys can let me know which parts I might be able to swap out for cheaper without sacrificing too much power. I'm not too keen on which brands are the most reliable, etc. Help me out!

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition $150

Mobo: Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H AM3 890GX ATX AMD Motherboard $100 (-$15 rebate)

Memory: 4GB DDR3-1333 (PC3-10666) CL9 Dual Channel Desktop Memory Kit (Two 2GB Memory Modules) $70 (-$10 rebate)

GPU: ENGTX460DC2D1G5 NVIDIA Ge Force GTX 460 1024MB GDDR5 PCIe 2.0 x16 Video Card $200 (-$30 rebate)

PSU: Thermaltake TR2 600 Watt ATX Power Supply $70

Hard Drive: Barracuda 7200.12 500GB 7,200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive ST3500418AS - OEM $50

Optical Drive: DVR-S18MBK Internal 22x Dual / Double Layer DVD Writer $40

Case: Cooler Master Elite 430 Mid Tower Case $35