+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Desktop under 1500.

Default Desktop under 1500.

Hi all. I want to start saving for a new computer.I like to stream netflix while playing mmorpgs. I very, very rarely. My internet is great. My ISP told me that in March they'll be upgrading me to a 40mbps fiber optic connection. (I'm currently at 20).

I am thinking of going with alienware by dell. Is this a good brand? Or are there other good reputable brands? Please don't tell me to build my own system, I do not have the knowledge or skill to do so.

From what I looked up an i5 core is better then an i7. The options are i3, i5, or i7. From what I'm reading i7 isn't worth the extra money, spend it on ram instead.

I have no idea what to choose for graphics cards. But, I'm betting dual graphic cards are better then single right? Is the CrossfireX ATIRadeon HD 56701GB any good?

For a harddrive, I don't know what to choose. My laptop I've been using as my primary computer for the last 3 years is only 250 gigabytes of hard disk space. I only am using 124 gigabytes so far. So I have plenty of free space. This sins't something I'm worried about. So, is SATA II 3GB/s 7200 RPM okay? What is Raid 0? Or Raid 1+0? What do these 16 MB, 32 MB cache, HDD means? I am not interested in an additional harddrive, rather to use that money for something else.

Are the Killer 2100 Gaming Network card or Killer Xeno cards any good?

Do sound cards make any difference?

I have no idea how to link dell computer etcs. If you all have builds laying around that are good, please let me know. .

explore telara through a photo journey at Traveling Telara. Feel free to submit your screenshot to us.

Quote Originally Posted by ashkir View Post
    I would ignore those, typically a huge waste of money for a gimmick.

For sound quality, absolutely. They also take a little load off the CPU, but not a game-breaking amount.