+ Reply to Thread

Thread: New computer, can I run Rift?

Soulwalker

Default New computer, can I run Rift?

I have been looking for a new computer that will be able to run Rift on Medium to High settings with no lag in rift zones or dungeons. I think i have found one, but i am not good at comparing computer specs. I am just looking for any one to tell me if this new system will run the game well. Thanks for any help or advice.

MEMORY 4GB Shared Single Channel DDR3 Memory edit
    HARD DRIVE 500GB 5400 RPM SATA Hard Drive edit
    VIDEO CARD AMD Radeon™ HD 6470M (64-bit) 512MB (Dual) edit
    INTERNAL OPTICAL DRIVE 8X Tray Load CD/DVD Burner (Dual Layer DVD+/-R Drive)
    DISPLAY 15.6" High Definition (720p) LED Display with TrueLife™
    SOUND OPTIONS HD Audio 2.0 Support SRS™ Premium Sound
    WIRELESS CARDS Intel® Centrion® Wireless-N 1030, 1x2 bgn + Bluetooth
    Network Card Integrated 10/100 Network Card
    Adobe Reader Adobe Acrobat X Reader
    MICROSOFT SOLUTION Genuine Windows® Home Premium, 64-Bit, English
    PROCESSOR 2nd generation Intel® Core™ i5-2410M processor 2.30 GHz with Turbo Boost 2.0 up to 2.90 GHz

Medium to high with shadow effects turned down. In large raids you may need to turn down spell details. Outside of that you should be fine.

The processor is good for a mobile cpu, however the GFX card is kind of weak. The 6000 series are less powerful than their predecessors already and 64xx is the lowest end of the 6 series, so I reckon it would be below the performance of even a 54xx. I think you could run medium settings at most, high would probably kill your framerates.

Just as a quick question though, why a laptop? For the same price you could an awesome desktop, so unless you really need the portability for other stuff or you're never in the same place at different times, don't give into the hype of everyone going mobile, because it just costs a ton more money to get a decent laptop for gaming and they die quicker as well.