+ Reply to Thread

Thread: hardwaredetector.exe has stopped working

Soulwalker

Default hardwaredetector.exe has stopped working

Getting this error. I have just uninstalled and reinstalled. The game is patching now, but
    this happened in my prior installation, and playing caused a "RIFT has stopped working" -type error.

Any ideas? I am brand new to the game, but not to gaming, so any suggestions or help would be most welcome.
    Last edited by Sithean; 03-01-2011 at 05:28 PM.

Soulwalker

I am having the same issue. I think its related to my d3dx9_43.dll but I am not sure. When I try to run either the rift.exe or the hardwaredetector.exe I recieve an error stating that my d3dxd9_43.dll file is not for windows or is corrupt. I have downloaded the June 2010 DirectX package from Microsoft, made sure everything was updated, and even deleted the d3dx9_43.dll file and did the online patch and it still would not work. I have spent 8 hours straight trouble shooting and trying to figure this out, but to no avail. No Rift for me until I can figure out what the problem is. I also re-downloaded the entire game (as I purchased it in digital form).

I really hope someone who is alot better with computers or maybe a new patch can help the ones who are having this issue out.

Edit: I forgot to mention that when I start the Play Right shortcut and log in and click play, a "Rift has stopped working" error pops up with windows saying it is trying to figure out why. I tried all the shortcuts and .exe files in the Rift folder and nothing has worked.
    Last edited by NotTaken; 03-02-2011 at 12:47 AM. Reason: Added in additional information for clarity

Soulwalker