+ Reply to Thread

Thread: lua being used

Rift Chaser

Default lua being used

i returned after 3 years. in rl, i am a programmer. is lua still being used. if yes, what version of lua? if no, what computer language is being used?

Champion

Yes lua is still used and it's version 4.0 AFAIK.

Cheers
    N.

Rift Chaser

thank you.

General of Telara

/script print(_VERSION)
    =>
    [/script] Lua 5.1

Actually, it is LuaJit, exact version unknown though, but it has a couple of extensions, including a few selected Lua 5.2 features.
    Dimension Addon 'Tinker Tools' is now available on Curse!
    Or grab the latest development code on GitHub.

Rift Chaser

if i download 5.2 lua editor/compiler, use 5.1 syntax or rift add-on kits/libraries, would it be safe and compatible?
    Last edited by riftloreseeker; 07-07-2016 at 11:25 AM.

General of Telara

You typically don't compile Lua manually, Rift (or rather the embedded LuaJIT) will do that automatically, so all you need is a text editor of your choice. (I like SciTE for example...)

From what I found Rift won't accept pre-compiled bytecode for security reasons anyway, so there's no point discussing bytecode compatibility between various Lua implementations.

Rift Chaser

Quote Originally Posted by Lynx3d View Post
    You typically don't compile Lua manually, Rift (or rather the embedded LuaJIT) will do that automatically, so all you need is a text editor of your choice. (I like SciTE for example...)

From what I found Rift won't accept pre-compiled bytecode for security reasons anyway, so there's no point discussing bytecode compatibility between various Lua implementations.
    i forgot lua is a scripting interpreted language. you are right. i will download luajit.

Rift Chaser

how do you link luajit to the scite editor? or do i create a separate makefile cmd line? in scite, there are no options for library, interpreter folder properties or parameters.

General of Telara