+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Noshei

Thread: How to get started?

Default How to get started?

First let me say, I'm a bonafide programmer. In fact one of the few that still did COBOL up to some time ago.

Second, I am interested in creating Addons but dont have any indication of language, format, syntax, and compilation. I have no idea where to get started.

Would someone please point me in the right direction. As much info as possible would be appreciated.

http://forums.riftgame.com/addon-api...resources.html

Great write up from another Addon Author.

LUA + XML. If you ever did WoW addons, API seems pretty similar. I'm just getting into it myself. Working on an inventory add-on myself atm. If you've done C++ or Java or really any of the modern languages, LUA should seem familiar. Its typing (and some of its boolean operations with strings) is a little weird, but otherwise, it's quick to pick it up.

RIftUI website is good.

I'm finding everything online regarding the API is insufficiently detailed or very outdated and the LUA community is largely unhelpful unless you have some bizarre theoretical question, it's not like AHK (awesome forum) where everyone is using it for games. You pretty much have to know LUA and XML and then just look at the API documentation yourself, IMO. RIFTUI has some forums but very few people post on them.

I'm reading this book (WoW Programming 2nd Edition) to pick up enough LUA programming to be functional. It's very good so far. Language itself borders on scripting. WoW API and Rift API are very similar in terms of how you write add-ons for them even if the API itself differs a bit but it's great in terms of understanding how LUA + XML work and interact.

http://www.amazon.com/World-Warcraft...dp_ob_title_bk

You can get it for about $15 off of ebay basically new, I did.

LOL, COBOL? Good Lord. I didn't know anyone actually still used that. DoD?

HTH,
    M
    Last edited by mistmare; 07-12-2012 at 06:54 PM.