+ Reply to Thread

Thread: A Read-through of the documented API...

Telaran

Default A Read-through of the documented API...

I've been reading the current docs for the current alpha API. I know--at least, I hope--that the API will expend drastically by the 22nd. I also assume the documentation is not complete, mostly because I've never seen documentation for a non-trivial API that was. I'm also ignoring little warts in the API, like redundant data, strange or confusing layout, inconsistencies, and so on; those don't actually matter much in the long term and they distract from actual analysis.

I'm not a very experienced Lua programmer, but I have used it and I have 20+ years programming experience with a lot of it focused on developing both public and private APIs. I love addons for games (and I recognize the good points the anti-addon crowd makes, since there are jerks everywhere and many of them will abuse addons), so I'm excited by this and I really hope it works out as a net positive. Since LOTRO didn't support addons natively, I wrote an on-screen keyboard emulator to help people use LOTRO's innovative music system and eventually expanded that to arbitrary macros, like a macroing keyboard for people who don't want to buy one; I'd much rather use an official API! I want to see the API expand and grow richer, rather than dwindle to the LOTRO or City levels.

The first pass at the published API looks like a great start, dipping the toes in the water with just one small set of character functionality (buffs) and some very simple UI. It's a good approach and a great start conversing with t he community about it.

And I really hope that's what it is: a great start with a subset of the 1.3 functionality to get us all talking about the pros and cons and get us familiar with the (pretty much WoW-influenced) design.

To that end, I put together a Can/Unknown/Can't list to help me understand what kinds of addons I can make and can't. Thought I'd share it.