The game obviously takes not of the first character you log in with when you open the game... I played on that character for a few minutes, then logged out, and onto another one (without closing the game).
As happens at least a few times a night, my client crashed, and the error handler popped up asking if i wanted to send a report and restart the game. Naturally, this is what I clicked, but the game tried to sign me back into the character that i logged in first, and then popped up with "you're still signed to Vigil as ..."
Repeated this until I closed the client, whether I waited for the logout timer or not. Why shouldn't it remember the character you were last signed in with instead?