Closed Thread
Page 1 of 12 1 2 3 4 5 11 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 166
Like Tree1Likes

  Click here to go to the first Rift Team post in this thread.   Thread: Beware of Fake Trion Sites!

  1. #1
    Sr. Community Manager Abigale's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    751

    Exclamation Beware of Fake Trion Sites!

    When you log in to your account, please verify that you are logging in through http://www.riftgame.com. Do not follow any other links to get to your account.

    We have been made aware of phishing sites that look very similar to our own login page. Do not trust emails that say they are sending you to our site. Always go to the official site to log into your account.
    Cindy Bowens
    Director of Community, North America
    Trion Worlds

  2. #2
    Telaran live2wel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Odenton
    Posts
    59

    Default

    BUMP this to the Top

  3. #3
    Rift Moderator Gill's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    5,639

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by live2wel View Post
    BUMP this to the Top
    I've just made it a sticky to save your bumping.

  4. #4
    RIFT Guide Writer Sinfullysweet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    2,824

    Default

    Thanks Gill and Abigale. Hopefully things will get smoothed out soon with all this.

    Sinfullysweet of Brown Chicken Brown Cow on Wolfsbane
    CountryGamer.com ~*~ PLAY ~*~Twitter ~*~ WorldofWardrobes.net ~*~ Raptr - Sinfullysweet

  5. #5
    Plane Touched Semirhage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    212

    Default

    Bookmark the site. Use the bookmark.

  6. #6
    Telaran
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    67

    Default

    Yes, I have been received 2 private tells from a user Riftd. He told me to re-register on a site, called so that I can get free mount. That site is still on and it requires you to have password and account ID and secret question. Can you guys ban this guy and shut down that site. It is a scam
    Last edited by Bik; 03-15-2011 at 11:27 PM. Reason: removed site name

  7. #7
    Telaran
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    87

    Default

    These are the more disturbing ones. They can make the URL's pretty damn close to the real one, and the sites can look exactly the same due to directly ripped HTML code. if someone's not careful enough to notice the subtle differences in what you posted, they can get stung pretty bad.
    Last edited by Bik; 03-15-2011 at 11:26 PM. Reason: removed quote

  8. #8
    Plane Touched Skorkh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    200

    Default

    Never trust a hyphen!
    Last edited by Bik; 03-15-2011 at 11:26 PM. Reason: removed quote
    Unfortunately, knowing someone's name does not make it easier to set them on fire with your mind.

    Nozrioh - 41 - Defiant Cleric - Galena
    Twowolves - 11 - Defiant Rogue - Galena

  9. #9
    Telaran
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    67

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Crunchy Pickles View Post
    These are the more disturbing ones. They can make the URL's pretty damn close to the real one, and the sites can look exactly the same due to directly ripped HTML code. Stuff like rift-game.tiroinworlds.co.ch is pretty obvious, but if someone's not careful enough to notice the subtle differences in what you posted, they can get stung pretty bad.
    Yes. I wanted a free mount very badly and put all my info there. I realized later and changed my password. Not sure if that would make my account safe again. That riftd told me the original special early bird program had been extended and if I registered the site again, I could get free mount. They know, we need these mounts badly and try to trick us. Very easy to be victim these days.

  10. #10
    Telaran
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    87

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Princess Lily View Post
    Yes. I wanted a free mount very badly and put all my info there. I realized later and changed my password. Not sure if that would make my account safe again. That riftd told me the original special early bird program had been extended and if I registered the site again, I could get free mount. They know, we need these mounts badly and try to trick us. Very easy to be victim these days.
    Run malware/virus/etc scanners as well, I'd recommend you include the UnhackMe program that's been going around on the forum too. Chances are, the fake sites they set up are a cesspool for keyloggers and other nasty things. You may not even need to log in to get those, if they're particularly infested.

  11. #11
    Champion muylaetrex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    589

    Default

    [trionworlds.com] https://session.trionworlds.com/logi...security_check

    is that genuine ? that's the bookmark i have to the account page. httpS is something i'm not familiar with tbh.

    i wanted to change my password but i'm a bit spooked now.
    Last edited by muylaetrex; 03-14-2011 at 01:00 PM.
    “The God of the Old Testament is arguably the most unpleasant character in all fiction: jealous and proud of it; a petty, unjust, unforgiving control-freak; a vindictive, bloodthirsty ethnic cleanser; a misogynistic, homophobic, racist, infanticidal, genocidal, filicidal, pestilential, megalomaniacal, sadomasochistic, capriciously malevolent bully.” – Richard Dawkins, The God Delusion

  12. #12
    Telaran
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    87

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by muylaetrex View Post
    [trionworlds.com] https://session.trionworlds.com/logi...security_check

    is that genuine ? that's the bookmark i have to the account page. httpS is something i'm not familiar with tbh.

    i wanted to change my password but i'm a bit spooked now.
    https:// means it's http over SSL. In other words, it's a secure connection that goes through a certificate authority most of the time.

    More info can be found here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HTTPS

  13. #13
    Champion muylaetrex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    589

    Default

    cheers for the reply. it means that it should absolutely safe and not a fake, yes ?
    “The God of the Old Testament is arguably the most unpleasant character in all fiction: jealous and proud of it; a petty, unjust, unforgiving control-freak; a vindictive, bloodthirsty ethnic cleanser; a misogynistic, homophobic, racist, infanticidal, genocidal, filicidal, pestilential, megalomaniacal, sadomasochistic, capriciously malevolent bully.” – Richard Dawkins, The God Delusion

  14. #14
    Telaran
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    87

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by muylaetrex View Post
    cheers for the reply. it means that it should absolutely safe and not a fake, yes ?
    It should be if you bookmarked it when you were on the site to begin with. A way to be absolutely sure is to start by going to https://rift.trionworlds.com and go from there, it'll take you to your account page.

  15. #15
    Soulwalker angelndrsn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Scary stuff, hope nobody has been caught up in that mess yet

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 12 1 2 3 4 5 11 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts