Thread: Beware of Fake Trion Sites! Just got that one. Their grammar is getting better at least.
Last edited by Walsingham; 03-22-2011 at 12:43 PM. Reason: phishing site
*copied from my other post*
I've seen a few posts of people getting the spam emails from these hackers who are still trying. Hopefully, those of you who have gotten it will do the following.
This is the one domain I've seen so far: [EDITED FOR YOUR SAFETY]
This domain is registered through GoDaddy (user did not opt for WHOIS privacy so it's a hacker failure).
Visit http://supportcenter.godaddy.com/Abu....aspx?ci=22420 to file an Abuse Spam Report against the domain owner. Be sure to include the full header (all details) of the email.
The domain points to an A-record (a type of redirect) to the webhost Psychz Networks.
Visit: http://www.psychz.net/helpdesk/index...kets&_a=submit to submit an abuse report with them as well.
I don't know much about this webhost, but all major hosts will shut down the user after just a small handful of complaints. I know my company does after 3 complaints in one day for phishing attempts. GoDaddy will lock the domain and keep the owner from accessing the domain manager, but they will not delete the domain as that allows said hacker to register it again elsewhere.
If you get spam mail with a different URL to go to and are not sure how to trace the registrar/host, PM me and I'll look it up for you.
Last edited by Walsingham; 03-22-2011 at 12:42 PM. Reason: phishing sites
Just got this email today and im 100% sure it's fake as the email address it refer's too is not mine.
Hello,
In order to complete this request, please open the verification email sent to []jamespc25@yahoo.com[]. and click the enclosed link.
Please note that once you change your email address, you will need to use the new address to log into Account Management and all Trion games.
If you did not request this change, please contact Trion Support immediately through our support center at []www.rift-account.com[].
Sincerely,
Trion Worlds
I got that and this in my mail today. Of course I did not use the link to check my account.
Hello,
Trion account password has been changed successfully.
Please remember to use your account or the game Trion world record new password.
Without this change, please contact us immediately Trion support Login:
[linkremoved] Support Center
Sincerely,
Trion Worlds
Last edited by Bik; 03-26-2011 at 02:58 AM. Reason: link removed
Got the same mail![]()
I just recieved this email today:
I couldn't even figure out the puzzle in Scarwood without help, I am definitely not going to be able to crack this "world record new password" I just got assigned.Hello,
Trion account password has been changed successfully.
Please remember to use your account or the game Trion world record new password.
Without this change, please contact us immediately Trion support Login:
[linkremoved] Support Center
Sincerely,
Trion Worlds
Last edited by Bik; 03-26-2011 at 03:00 AM. Reason: removed link
Looks like there's a new variation on an old theme:
*
Trion Account Password Changed
noreply@trionworlds.com
Trion Worlds Support
noreply@trionworlds.com
*
To XXXXXX@hotmail.com
From: Trion Worlds Support (noreply@trionworlds.com)
Sent: Fri 3/25/11 12:22 AM
To: XXXXXX@hotmail.com
This message looks suspicious to our SmartScreen filters.
Hello,
In order to complete this request, please open the verification email sent to [link removed] and click the enclosed link.
Please note that once you change your email address, you will need to use the new address to log into Account Management and all Trion games.
If you did not request this change, please contact Trion Support immediately through our support center at [link-removed]
Sincerely,
Trion Worlds
Last edited by Bik; 03-26-2011 at 02:55 AM. Reason: removed site name
Above email is valid if the link you removed was http://trionworlds.custhelp.com.
That is the valid support site, it's listed in the FAQ: http://www.riftgame.com/en/game/faq.php (under PayPal info).
If its that rift*addition* link, then yes, not valid.
Last edited by Psiryn; 03-27-2011 at 09:45 AM.
Also not that if you hover your mouse over the link and if there is a ref=(legitsite) at the end. It's another sign that it is a scam.
I've noticed that in every single phishing attempt for my Blizzard/WoW account I get ever single day, that the link always has a ref=https://www.blizzard.com/account/blablabla at the end.
Last edited by xDarkMx; 03-27-2011 at 09:57 AM.
How do they get your email adress anyway? do Trion publish it or what?![]()
Hi, I just got an email, claiming to be a password change confirmation email, from someone trying to change my details, only thing is the idiot left there email address on it, so Who can I send this to in Trion security support, I won't post the email here, but will pass a copy on to the right people, or if this is the wrong thread, then is there a thread in the forums.
It might an idea to keep a thread/list of what fake sites and emails look like, (disabled of course)
Blizzard had/has something similar in there forums to educate the players as to what to watch out for, just an idea.
Last edited by Redcap036; 03-27-2011 at 08:24 PM.
Bookmarks