+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 69

Thread: Who Wants to Brag About Their Computer? (Besides Me)

  1. #1
    Soulwalker Zyssago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    7

    Default Who Wants to Brag About Their Computer? (Besides Me)

    I'm just curious what people are using to play Rift with when they get the chance. I am a bit of a computer freak.

    I'll go first just for the heck of it:

    Tyan 2875 Dual Opteron 146's 2GB RAM ATI Radeon HD 3800

    Don't ask what my next project is.

  2. #2
    Rift Disciple Tuskanxi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    169

    Default

    I have to say yours a bit outdated :P

    Here is mine.

    I5 750 @ 3.0 (mild OC to run mem at stock speeds)
    Patriot Gamer 1600 Mhz 4GB (need 4gb more)
    EVGA P55 FTW SLI/Xfire
    Sapphire 5870 1GB (Won from AMD)
    Antec Quattro 1KW (Won from Antec)
    Antec 1200 Case (Custom side panel with tinted window, also won from Antec, with the Antec 1200 radiator)
    Uber cable management by me.
    4, 500GB hard drives for now.
    Hail to the king, Baby!

  3. #3
    Ascendant Anxient's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,250

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zyssago View Post
    I'm just curious what people are using to play Rift with when they get the chance. I am a bit of a computer freak.

    I'll go first just for the heck of it:

    Tyan 2875 Dual Opteron 146's 2GB RAM ATI Radeon HD 3800

    Don't ask what my next project is.
    The minimum specs require 3gb minimum RAM. They recommend 4gb of RAM. You will definitely want to boost that up.

    I am running an Intel Core 2 Quad processor, 4 gb ram, GTX 260 video card.
    Thinking of upgrading my card to the GTX 460 though.

  4. #4
    Champion
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    512

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Anxient View Post
    The minimum specs require 3gb minimum RAM. They recommend 4gb of RAM. You will definitely want to boost that up.

    I am running an Intel Core 2 Quad processor, 4 gb ram, GTX 260 video card.
    Thinking of upgrading my card to the GTX 460 though.
    It is 2gb of ram for min, and that is normal. Looking at the videos and all, I dont think it will need that much ram. It really depends on how clean your system is, how you handle processes when you game, and all of that combined. TBH I still use 2gb of ram, with a e8400 4.05Ghz DualCore and Dual 4870's in crossfire. While FFXIV may be a flop gameplay wise, IMO of course, the graphics are pretty good texture wise and how it is all normal mapped including the avatar itself. I ran that game, with ll settings maxed besides field of depth <dunno why i never enabled it?> and of course eyefinity due to my single monitor.

    If anyone, during the state they'd be gaming in, has at least 1200-1400 physical memory free, with this being extremely modest as well, they should be fine.

    The biggest factors is severely bottlenecked cpu and/or gpu in relation to resolution, instability when not properly fine tuning a Overclock, and badly mishandled HDD maintenance.

  5. #5
    Ascendant Anxient's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,250

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kuggy View Post
    It is 2gb of ram for min, and that is normal.
    Oops yes I actually meant to write 2gb minimum 4 gb recommended.

    Thanks for the fix.

  6. #6
    Ascendant rabb1t's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Bay Area, CA
    Posts
    2,459

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Anxient View Post
    Thinking of upgrading my card to the GTX 460 though.
    I'd recommend against that. Word is the AMD 69xx cards are due before the end of the year and I'd put bets at seeing an Nvidia GTX 560 by April. I'd say hold out until then and decide at that time.
    **Canceled Oct '11, cannot reply on forums. Contact me through my site.**
    rabb1t.com - pc gaming hardware tech talk for everyone / rabb1t's ramblings podcast
    rabb1t's Gamer Day 2010 After Party videos
    joo can has Rift iPhone 4 and Droid wallpapers


  7. #7
    Rift Disciple Tuskanxi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    169

    Default

    Absublutely no reason to not have at least 4GB of ram these days. I mean NO reason at all. 70 bucks for 4gB of ddr3 1600 memory
    Hail to the king, Baby!

  8. #8
    Rift Disciple Fuzionite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    101

    Default

    Here in the UK you're looking at 100s of pounds for a 4G RAM rig.
    (500 + so to speak, equivalent to $800 +)
    So if you can find some in the UK cheaper, hit me up. I barely got by with a 3GIG RAM laptop for 450
    Reborn - Hardcore EU Raiders

  9. #9
    Rift Disciple Tuskanxi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    169

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Fuzionite View Post
    Here in the UK you're looking at 100s of pounds for a 4G RAM rig.
    (500 + so to speak, equivalent to $800 +)
    So if you can find some in the UK cheaper, hit me up. I barely got by with a 3GIG RAM laptop for 450
    yeah you are talking about a whole rig. Honestly is kinda dumb to buy, when the parts are so much cheaper and you arent paying some indian from india to package it together with some oem os with bloatware preinstalled on it.
    Hail to the king, Baby!

  10. #10
    Champion WildeNight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    304

    Default

    Even though I'm a girl and I build my own gaming machines, I do not have the urge to wave my internet (girl)peen around. But enjoy.

    Because Evil is Sexy

  11. #11
    Champion
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    512

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tuskanxi View Post
    Absublutely no reason to not have at least 4GB of ram these days. I mean NO reason at all. 70 bucks for 4gB of ddr3 1600 memory
    I have a great reason. It isnt my upgrade time yet. When mid 2011 or so hits, sure, but that is usually a 3kusd investment every 3 and 1/2-4 years. I build to meet my needs. 4gb of ram does me no good, right now.

  12. #12
    Telaran riftlama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    ohio, us
    Posts
    59

    Default

    msi p55 g65 mobo
    intel i5 760 quad at 3.4 ghz on all cores(mobo auto-overclocking)
    4 gb corsair 1600 mhz @ 1560 mhz
    128 gb ocz agility 2 SSD primary drive
    2x GTX 460 SC in SLI (1gb ddr5 each) <- hope rift truly uses sli
    titan fenrir cpu cooler / 800w ocz psu
    cable management - none :P

    23" acer monitor 1920x1080

    Mainly built this for fun, photoshop and a few games, hoping rift utilizes multi core programming and sli.
    Last edited by riftlama; 12-02-2010 at 06:12 AM.

  13. #13
    Shield of Telara Martie's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    735

    Default

    AMD Phenom 9950 2,6GHz
    4 GB of some random RAM
    Radeon 4870 1 GB
    1 TB + 250 GB HDD
    22" BenQ screen
    Antec Sonata II

    Hopefully will run Rift properly. Might do some upgrade at a later stage.
    Currently downloading the client at a steady 11,3 MB/s.. Love good servers..

  14. #14
    Rift Disciple Tuskanxi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    169

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by riftlama View Post
    msi p55 g65 mobo
    intel i5 760 quad at 3.4 ghz on all cores(mobo auto-overclocking)
    4 gb corsair 1600 mhz @ 1560 mhz
    128 gb ocz agility 2 SSD primary drive
    2x GTX 460 SC in SLI (1gb ddr5 each) <- hope rift truly uses sli
    titan fenrir cpu cooler / 800w ocz psu
    cable management - none :P

    23" acer monitor 1920x1080

    Mainly built this for fun, photoshop and a few games, hoping rift utilizes multi core programming and sli.
    Me and you should see the same performance, looking at high to very high settings
    Hail to the king, Baby!

  15. #15
    Shadowlander al_capowned's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tuskanxi View Post
    Absublutely no reason to not have at least 4GB of ram these days. I mean NO reason at all. 70 bucks for 4gB of ddr3 1600 memory
    well...running a 32 bit version of Win XP or lower would be a good reason not to put 4GB of RAM in your system.


    I will most likely be playing on my laptop:

    i7 720Q @ 2.8ghz
    8GB G-Skill DDR3 PC3-1066 PC38500
    Intel X25-M Gen2 160GB SSD
    Dual nVida GTX480M
    My glass is neither half full nor half empty...it's simply twice as big as it needs to be

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts