+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Becoming a game designer

Default Becoming a game designer

i have a HUGE passion for gaming, especially MMO's. How can i become a game designer? (im only a sophomore in HS)

Quote Originally Posted by biggmike1993 View Post
    i have a HUGE passion for gaming, especially MMO's. How can i become a game designer? (im only a sophomore in HS)
    I recommend finishing high school and then going to college.

Plane Walker

Full Sail University in Florida is one school I would recommend. Although there are honestly plenty of places you could go to learn game design.

well obviously, but what can i do while in high school to help me be familiar with game designing

where in Florida, considering i live there haha

Plane Walker

well obviously, but what can i do while in high school to help me be familiar with game designing
    Look up Torque 2D and start there. You only need about $100 for the program, and walla you can start making cool 2D games right away.

Start to get immersed in it now, and I mean right now. Visit the forums, read books on game design, subscribe to the magazines.
    Surround yourself with ideas and help to make you succeed, and start making friends that also want to make games or are already doing so.

Edit: Winter Park, florida.

http://www.fullsail.edu/
    Last edited by Iluvhybridspecs; 02-10-2011 at 04:08 PM.

and what GPA would i need?

and how hard would it be to just jump into it right away? cause i hear so many people try to do game design

Plane Walker

and what GPA would i need?
    I'd give them a call at 800.226.7625

Your dreams start becoming reality once you take the first step.

I remember when I was in high school and I wanted to do game design.

Then I hit college and decided the FBI would be way cooler.

Plane Walker

and how hard would it be to just jump into it right away? cause i hear so many people try to do game design