+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Observations On Gamer Culture

Default Observations On Gamer Culture

While I certainly have a laundry list of MMO titles under my belt, I've also put my fair share of time into WoW. Sometimes it was out of boredom, other times I genuinely enjoyed the experience. That said, I've been playing WoW off and on since inception in 2004, and my main has almost always been my mage; I briefly leveled and played a priest, but moved back to my mage shortly after hitting 80.

Yesterday, as I was mindlessly running through heroics wishing Rift were out, a couple of other players decided to bring up the subject, blatantly, of how "arcane mages are such noobs." They brought it up of course, because I was an arcane mage. I immediately conceded that arcane mages were the new easymode for DPS. It's kind of hard to argue with one-button DPS'ing and about 4 different ways to escape or delay aggro. After agreeing with them, I decided to point out my "history" with this particular character.

In 2004 when I rolled my mage, anyone rolling arcane was a noob because arcane sucked. Wait a minute, so they are too good and easy now, so it's for noobs, and back then when it sucked it was for noobs... because it sucked? Anyway, I pointed out to them, that I'd had the character since 2004, and that I've always liked arcane, always been arcane, and always will be arcane. It wasn't a matter of good vs. bad, it was a matter of flavor and playstyle. Their response? "Cool story bro."