I'm curious what would be faster

3 - EVGA NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GTX 512 MB

approx $ 300

or

2 - EVGA GeForce GTX 460 Superclocked 768 MB

approx $ 360

1 - EVGA GeForce GTX 470 1280mb

Approx $ 290

Trying to figure out what configuration would be the best combination the 3 .... the 2 or the 1.... i'm a little new to the SLI configurations trying to see what may be best for a new computer.... any info would be great....

Soulwalker

First of all out of those the GTX470 is easily the fastest, though its only about 10% faster than the GTX460.

On a side note, where the hell are you getting those prices?

Use newegg.com or amazon.com and you should be relatively safe.

I think you guys misunderstood. He's asking which is faster: THREE of the first cards together in SLI, TWO of the second cards together in SLI, or ONE of the third card.

The first card isn't worth considering, even in a 3-way SLI setup. It is much older tech, and wouldn't be a good investment.

2 GTX 460s in SLI would be faster, I think, but I would go with a single GTX 470. Save some money, save the hassle, and unless you are running a super-high resolution, a single GTX 470 should be plenty for any game. In fact, depending on the rest of your system and the size of your monitor, a single GTX 460 1GB might be plenty.

Personally, I don't feel SLI is worth it most of the time, because of the hassle, and the fact that the performance is inconsistent. Some games you'll see a huge performance increase from SLI, some a small increase, and some no increase at all...and you often have to play with setting and mess with stuff to get the performance increases. I like to just put in a card, not mess with it, and play with reasonably close performance across all games.

You may want to hold off on buying, though...there are new gen cards coming pretty soon.
    "Behind this mask, there's an idea... and ideas are bulletproof." -V for Vendetta

forums - Fozzik's Hardware
    blog - The Last Bastion