+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Pc upgrade. Raid 0 config

Soulwalker

Default Pc upgrade. Raid 0 config

Hey everyone,
    I recently decided it was time to spend some of that income tax return on some nice things, and my storage situation is in dire need of an upgrade.

just a note, I consider myself somewhat tech savoy (on my 2nd build and no problems), but when it comes to storage and raid arrays im still learning, so bare with me.

I recently built a new system (specifically for gaming), but carried over my old 500gb WD 7200rpm HDD. I plan(ned) on upgrading it, but with the price of SSD's dropping I'm thinking that purchasing one and running it in raid 0 with my old HDD might be the way to go.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820239049
    Is what im currently looking at.

my question is, for performance, what would be better? buy a newer faster HDD and just use a single drive? or purchase this SSD and run my OS and a few applications (mostly games, stress test applications, etc) on it and use my current HDD for storage (music, movies, older games, etc)?

or am I completely off with how I should set this up? any advice is greatly appreciated!!

thanks in advance!

I've tried going Raid 0 with 4 drives, and I'm currently running on ssd. Raid was a slight improvement over 1 drive, solid state blew it out of the water. That said, if you have the money to blow SSD's do scale well in raid 0

edit: I can't recommend using an ssd+hdd in raid. Raid 0 splits everything in half and pulls from 2 sources... you don't want it to be forever waiting for the hdd.
    Last edited by Demp; 03-26-2013 at 03:52 AM.

CPU: i7 2600K @ 4.8Ghz Mobo: ASUS Sabertooth P67 RAM: 8 G.SKILL Ripjaws X (1600, running @ 2400) GPUs: 2 x 460GTX's Monitors: 3 x ASUS VG236 w/ Nvidia 3D kit SSD: OCZ Vertex 3 240GB

Ideal: 1 SSD for OS, 1 SSD for games, 1 HDD for data, 1 external HDD for backup

Good enough for most people: 1 large SSD for OS and games, 1 HDD for data