+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Like Tree12Likes

Thread: Musings on WoW

Plane Touched

Default Musings on WoW

I wanted to see why people hate or like WoW so much.

I started playing it waiting for SL to drop and am really enjoying it. I was in the closed beta but that was about the last time I played WoW.

For me the game has a lot of depth, engaging lore, polished game play, and a host of other strong points.

Some of the detractors seem to be: easy raids (haven't done heroics), rep grinds for raid currency gear, simplified skill system, and other things.

TBH the community has been rather helpful and not all bad.

Just wondering why others had vehement opposition/support for the game.

its not that people hate it so much as they are annoyed by constant refrences to it while playing other games.

WoW is (was?) so popular for a while that, since so many people played it, it is now used as a frame of reference for all other games to be compared to. This means that people tend to act like wow was the "best" or "original" or whatever which really gets on peoples nerves because in reality it was an overhyped peice of crap.

I played it for a year during BC and while it was a decent game it was nothing to write home about. and from what i've heard now, gearflation is rampant (tanks have over 500k HP!), the character spec customization is non-existant (100% cookiecutter or you're useless), and the entire game revolves around doing endless repetitions of daily quests.

In addition to all of that, many people feel that wow is one of the main contributors of the "dumbing down" of the entire genre of MMO's

I started my MMO 'career' playing Ultima Online and refused point blank to try WoW because it was so different to what I loved (camera rotation and stuff seemed like witchcraft).