+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R rev 2.0 motherboard issue

  1. #1
    Plane Touched JoolaPrime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    121

    Default Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R rev 2.0 motherboard issue

    Anyone had and solved an issue with this motherboard not picking up hard drives or DVD players?

    Currently mine only registers my SSD but not my SATA HDD or DVD burner. I'm sure its just a BIOS configuration but I don't know where to start

    Any help would be appreciated


    P.S. the internet hasn't been my friend on this one
    CPU: i7 950 @ 3.07Ghz | MB: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R | RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws 12GB DDR3-2000 (PC-16000) | GPU: HD 7970 | SSD: Corsair F60 | Monitor: Samsung PX2370 @ 1920x1080 | SC: SB X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional | OS: Win7 x64

  2. #2
    Ascendant
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    1,995

    Default

    you should find out what your BIOS version is. it looks like some of those bios updates deal with sata so maybe you should try that if you have an older version.
    Operating System: Windows 7 Pro 64bit
    Processor: Intel i7 960 @ 3.8Ghz
    Memory: 6GB DDR3 Triple Channel
    Graphics: Palit Geforce GTX 560Ti 2GB (Driver 301.24 BETA)
    Monitor: ASUS VE248 @ 1920x1080

  3. #3
    Plane Touched JoolaPrime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    121

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HeavyMetalLucidity View Post
    you should find out what your BIOS version is. it looks like some of those bios updates deal with sata so maybe you should try that if you have an older version.
    It didn't work with the BIOS version shipped and sadly working my way through each update didn't correct the problem either..

    ..still at square 1
    CPU: i7 950 @ 3.07Ghz | MB: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R | RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws 12GB DDR3-2000 (PC-16000) | GPU: HD 7970 | SSD: Corsair F60 | Monitor: Samsung PX2370 @ 1920x1080 | SC: SB X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional | OS: Win7 x64

  4. #4
    Rift Master Tzaar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    629

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HeavyMetalLucidity View Post
    you should find out what your BIOS version is. it looks like some of those bios updates deal with sata so maybe you should try that if you have an older version.
    Indeed, check the mfg site for updated BIOS revisions and read the applicable notes.

  5. #5
    Rift Master Tzaar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    629

    Default

    NOTE: disregard my prior post -- we were posting at the same time.

    Do you have AHCI enabled in the BIOS? Do you have all your SATA ports enabled in BIOS?

    http://forums.pcper.com/showthread.php?t=444831

  6. #6
    Plane Touched JoolaPrime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    121

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tzaar View Post
    NOTE: disregard my prior post -- we were posting at the same time.

    Do you have AHCI enabled in the BIOS? Do you have all your SATA ports enabled in BIOS?

    http://forums.pcper.com/showthread.php?t=444831
    No I don't have AHCI enabled, I thought this only concerned RAID setups (which I don't have)?

    All my SATA ports are enabled...I've also switch my SATA cables around so the the drive not been picked up was using the port and cable of the one that was.
    CPU: i7 950 @ 3.07Ghz | MB: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R | RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws 12GB DDR3-2000 (PC-16000) | GPU: HD 7970 | SSD: Corsair F60 | Monitor: Samsung PX2370 @ 1920x1080 | SC: SB X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional | OS: Win7 x64

  7. #7
    Rift Master Tzaar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    629

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JoolaPrime View Post
    No I don't have AHCI enabled, I thought this only concerned RAID setups (which I don't have)?

    All my SATA ports are enabled...I've also switch my SATA cables around so the the drive not been picked up was using the port and cable of the one that was.
    AHCI isn't a "RAID" thing [although it can be used in a RAID setup], it's an IO standard for the SATA interface -- just select AHCI, save your BIOs, reboot -- and see if the drives are detected in either the POST screen or in BIOS.

    I've had an issue with a motherboard in the past that wouldn't detect certain drive types without AHCI enabled. Once enabled, the drives were detected normally and I could format without issue.

    "What is AHCI ?

    AHCI stand for Advance Host Controller Interface. AHCI is a hardware mechanism that allows software to communicate with Serial ATA (SATA) devices (such as host bus adapters) that are designed to offer features not offered by Parallel ATA (PATA) controllers, such as hot-plugging and native command queuing (NCQ). The specification details a system memory structure for computer hardware vendors in order to transfer data between system memory and the device."
    --taken from http://expertester.wordpress.com/200...ark-advantage/
    Last edited by Tzaar; 01-19-2011 at 07:49 PM.

  8. #8
    Rift Disciple neX!Tem's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Vienna
    Posts
    111

    Default

    Just write to the support of Gigabyte, they are helping you for sure. i had issues too. got fixed within 24 hours! go giga
    Last edited by neX!Tem; 01-19-2011 at 07:56 PM.

  9. #9
    Plane Touched JoolaPrime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    121

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by neX!Tem View Post
    Just write to the support of Gigabyte, they are helping you for sure. i had issues too. got fixed within 24 hours! go giga
    and that's what I did



    I got another SATA HDD and installed that...works fine alongside the SDD in IDE and AHCI. I'm guessing that for some strange reason my HDD and DVD drive decided to die at the same time...?
    CPU: i7 950 @ 3.07Ghz | MB: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R | RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws 12GB DDR3-2000 (PC-16000) | GPU: HD 7970 | SSD: Corsair F60 | Monitor: Samsung PX2370 @ 1920x1080 | SC: SB X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional | OS: Win7 x64

+ Reply to Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts