+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Will i even be able to touch this game?

  1. #1
    Shadowlander
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    26

    Default Will i even be able to touch this game?

    Title says it all

    Currently have a Striker Extreme MB
    Q6600 Quad Core
    8800Gts x2 Sli Enabled
    4 gig memory

    I know its like 2 years old but i was playing wow with this and is all i really needed

    If i am to upgrade can you please sugest upgrades for i am not extremly computer savy
    Also Not looking to really break the bank either

    thanks much

  2. #2
    Shadowlander Multiply's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    37

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Painmaster View Post
    Title says it all

    Currently have a Striker Extreme MB
    Q6600 Quad Core
    8800Gts x2 Sli Enabled
    4 gig memory

    I know its like 2 years old but i was playing wow with this and is all i really needed

    If i am to upgrade can you please sugest upgrades for i am not extremly computer savy
    Also Not looking to really break the bank either

    thanks much
    You would easily be able to play, even on high settings. with a decent FPS
    "Life is what you make it to"

  3. #3
    Shadowlander
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    26

    Default

    really???? cool

  4. #4
    Shield of Telara
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    789

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Painmaster View Post
    Title says it all

    Currently have a Striker Extreme MB
    Q6600 Quad Core
    8800Gts x2 Sli Enabled
    4 gig memory

    I know its like 2 years old but i was playing wow with this and is all i really needed

    If i am to upgrade can you please sugest upgrades for i am not extremly computer savy
    Also Not looking to really break the bank either

    thanks much
    Should be fine, what is break the bank though?

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814121416

    Or

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814261073

    Or

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814127500

  5. #5
    Shadowlander
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    26

    Default

    i could spend 250$ on a card no problem would the results be a huge difference? and would my mother board support the new age cards? Again its 2 years old
    Last edited by Painmaster; 01-16-2011 at 08:55 PM.

  6. #6
    Prophet of Telara nefermore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Seattle WA
    Posts
    1,041

    Default

    If your going to upgrade anything I would add some ram first.

  7. #7
    Shadowlander
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    26

    Default

    ya i would have to get a new op system as mine is only 32 bit

  8. #8
    Shield of Telara
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    789

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Painmaster View Post
    i could spend 250$ on a card no problem would the results be a huge difference? and would my mother board support the new age cards? Again its 2 years old
    yea the PCI-E 2.0 cards are all backward compatible. 250 gets you a nice card, if you could put 300 out it gets you a brand new card from ATi and a newer Nvidia card as well. The bigger question is if your power supply can support the cards. I would guess it could do an ATi 6950, but I dunno about those fermi cards from Nvidia. Just depends on the power supply. The 8800's weren't very large either, so in a mid tower case a never card might be too long to fit easily. All things to consider if you are going to shell out 250 or 300 bucks.

  9. #9
    Shadowlander
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    26

    Default

    Antec 900 case

    Powersupply is a Cooler master 850w

  10. #10
    Shield of Telara
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    789

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Painmaster View Post
    Antec 900 case

    Powersupply is a Cooler master 850w
    should be fine even for a fermi.

  11. #11
    Prophet of Telara
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Seattle Jump on it!
    Posts
    949

    Default

    My guildy had pretty much the same specs as you and he wasn't really able to play on high quality very smoothly.

    And that was with a G0 stepping q6600 oc'd to 3.6ghz.

    I'd suggest you look into upgrading your video card(s)
    Last edited by dinhosaur; 01-16-2011 at 09:58 PM.

  12. #12
    Plane Touched Tragedy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    171

    Default

    You can touch it...




    you'll just have to go to the store to do it.

    I don't need a flag, Mr. Christian. Unlike you I still have a country. (Captain Blythe)
    In war (and PvP) it's not who's right, it's who's left.
    I will have my Vengeance. In this life or the next
    .

  13. #13
    Shadowlander
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    26

    Default

    Any sugestions on a card??

    That my MB and Power Suply will handle?

    Striker Extreme MB Cooler Master 850w Ps

  14. #14
    Shadowlander
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    26

    Default

    actually got some money going to be spending about 1700$ on a rig

+ Reply to Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts