+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: New Computer

  1. #1
    Soulwalker
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12

    Question New Computer

    Hey guys, getting a new computer and just looking for some advice. Will i get 30+ FPS at ultra with this video card, and CPU?

    AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Deneb 3.2GHz
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103808

    SAPPHIRE 100315L Radeon HD 6850 1GB 256-bit GDDR5
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102908


    Thanks!
    Last edited by Vatic; 01-14-2011 at 06:23 PM.

  2. #2
    Plane Touched Tragedy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    171

    Default

    I've not heard great things about sapphire cards, but the processor should be decent. I'm running a 965 now, but didn't get it until two days ago. So have no idea of the FPS in game.

    I don't need a flag, Mr. Christian. Unlike you I still have a country. (Captain Blythe)
    In war (and PvP) it's not who's right, it's who's left.
    I will have my Vengeance. In this life or the next
    .

  3. #3

  4. #4
    Rift Disciple
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    145

    Default

    1) Get a Nvidia card
    2) If you already have the motherboard then I suppose it would work but if not then get one of the new Intel socket 1155 motherboards and processors because they have better frame rates them the Socket 1366 980 Extreme in games or you could wait tell later this year and get one of the new Intel chips that are replacing the 1366 sockets and knock the sox off gaming. The current socket 1155's are getting like 115 FPS in new MMOs. Don't quote me cause I haven't seen it myself but I read some benchmarks on it. Non MMOs they are getting like 140 FPS. It seems extremely high but I do know they are the best processors out there so go grab a socket 1155 if you don't have the AMD MB already.
    Last edited by Vexat; 01-14-2011 at 06:36 PM.

  5. #5

  6. #6
    Soulwalker
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vexat View Post
    Wow and the comp runs well on a 520W power supply? I would think the minimum would require 600W. Like I tell everyone your computer is only as good as its weakest link.
    Says 500w right here: http://www.amd.com/us/products/deskt...verview.aspx#3

  7. #7
    Plane Touched Tragedy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    171

    Default

    Here's what I just bought:
    Ram:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231303

    CPU:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103727

    Motherboard:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131402


    Definitely not top of the line, but I like it so far. Only played WoW at highest settings so far, but have had 0 lag at all. That RAM is really nice too. Definitely feels nice and sturdy. Didn't realize how flimsy the crap I had bought before was until I got that.

    As for vid cards, I'd go with this. It's a little cheaper and is showing better speeds that the one you posted. Do a little more research and see if someone has compared the two.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814127490

    PSU:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817171052
    Last edited by Tragedy; 01-14-2011 at 07:03 PM.

    I don't need a flag, Mr. Christian. Unlike you I still have a country. (Captain Blythe)
    In war (and PvP) it's not who's right, it's who's left.
    I will have my Vengeance. In this life or the next
    .

  8. #8
    Plane Touched
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    194

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vexat View Post
    Wow and the comp runs well on a 520W power supply? I would think the minimum would require 600W. Like I tell everyone your computer is only as good as its weakest link.
    The PSU is high quality, it will run it fine. Big, big difference between a 500W SeaSonic and a 500W CoolMax/Apex/Ultra/etc.

  9. #9
    Rift Disciple
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    145

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Legiav View Post
    The PSU is high quality, it will run it fine. Big, big difference between a 500W SeaSonic and a 500W CoolMax/Apex/Ultra/etc.
    Its a Bronze so its most effiecient at like 85% max. This link shows them http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/80_PLUS High quality is Silver or Gold. I just checked and at this link (http://c1.neweggimages.com/BizIntell...owersupply.jpg) if he plugs in all his components it will tell him what he should have for a PS. I got 488W and thats if he only has 1 HD and 1 DVD/CD drive otherwise he will be over and require a bigger PS. So if hes using a Bronse 80 power supply at 520W which he says he is its efficient to about 442W. Not saying it won't work but its cutting it close.
    Last edited by Vexat; 01-14-2011 at 08:03 PM.

  10. #10
    Plane Touched Tragedy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    171

    Default

    I told him to go with a 650. Should be good for what he's wanting to run.

    I have a 650W Apex and that thing is a tank. Been going strong for a few years now. My only complaint is that it isn't modular.




    VATIC: Forgot to ask if those HDD's you had were IDE or SATA. If they are IDE, the MOBO I listed WILL NOT WORK. Tried to talk to you on vent, but you were afk. It only had one IDE connector so if you're planning on running 2 or more IDE, then it will not work. However, newer HDD's aren't expensive. I got a 1tb Caviar Black 7200RPM for around 80 bucks.

    I don't need a flag, Mr. Christian. Unlike you I still have a country. (Captain Blythe)
    In war (and PvP) it's not who's right, it's who's left.
    I will have my Vengeance. In this life or the next
    .

  11. #11
    Rift Disciple
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    145

    Default

    Good idea. Yeah the 650W should be a lot better and not cut it so close.

  12. #12
    Plane Touched
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    194

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vexat View Post
    High quality is Silver or Gold.
    I was talking about the brand, obviously.

    And I would use a 520W SeaSonic before I would use a 650W Apex. The SeaSonic has 40A on a single 12v rail, what does your 650W Apex have?
    Last edited by Legiav; 01-14-2011 at 08:15 PM.

  13. #13
    Rift Disciple
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    145

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Legiav View Post
    I was talking about the brand, obviously.

    And I would use a 520W SeaSonic before I would use a 650W Apex. The SeaSonic has 40A on a single 12v rail, what does your 650W Apex have?
    The Apex has a single rail 52A. Never seen a Seasonic PS anywhere on a chart as being a top PS. Maybe somewhere they have one just never seen it myself. I use Corsair or Thermaletake mostly in the comps I build. Though I found the 1000W Gold CoolMaster is ranked pretty good. Can't remember the model off hand.
    Note: Most PS's are not made by the company that distribute them.
    Last edited by Vexat; 01-14-2011 at 08:28 PM.

  14. #14
    Soulwalker
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tragedy View Post
    VATIC: Forgot to ask if those HDD's you had were IDE or SATA. If they are IDE, the MOBO I listed WILL NOT WORK. Tried to talk to you on vent, but you were afk. It only had one IDE connector so if you're planning on running 2 or more IDE, then it will not work. However, newer HDD's aren't expensive. I got a 1tb Caviar Black 7200RPM for around 80 bucks.
    They are SATA, I've been doing some searching and noticed a difference in the chipset, the 870 is newer.

    MSI 870A-G54 AM3 AMD 870 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
    SAPPHIRE 100315L Radeon HD 6850 1GB 256-bit GDDR5
    COOLER MASTER GX Series RS650-ACAAE3-US 650W ATX12V v2.31 80 PLUS Certified
    G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666)
    AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Deneb 3.2GHz


    Is the above memory good, has lower timings. I'm still not sure on the video card.

  15. #15
    Plane Touched Tragedy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    171

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vatic View Post

    Better timings, maybe, but it is slower (1333 vs 1600). Still good stuff. Up to you what you like, though. Edit: also, for an extra $15 you can bump that processor to the 965 black edition. Then we can be processor buddies!
    Last edited by Tragedy; 01-14-2011 at 10:16 PM.

    I don't need a flag, Mr. Christian. Unlike you I still have a country. (Captain Blythe)
    In war (and PvP) it's not who's right, it's who's left.
    I will have my Vengeance. In this life or the next
    .

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts