+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Yet another "pimp my pc for rift" thread

  1. #1
    Soulwalker
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default Yet another "pimp my pc for rift" thread

    Well the title says it all. Although I have a real good understanding about computer parts, im not that guy who knows which game uses more each hardware. Seems like rift goes for processor, so here is my pc now:

    Q6600 2.4Ghz
    GIGABYTE GA-EX38-DS4 LGA 775 Intel X38 ATX Intel Motherboard
    Ati Radeon 5770
    4gb DDR2 ram
    Win 7 64bits

    Im going to buy a new HD since my last one died. Im with a 160gb only one, which is full. (like 5-10gb free, can it actually hurt performance?). So I may just spend some more and improve if needed.I dont live in US, and hardwares prices here are like 2x-3x the price you pay over there, so you guys may take that in mind. I dont think my motherboard can support a processor upgrade, can it? Would 2-4gb more ram be any better?

    Would really apreciate any help, consider that if Rift is really going to score like im thinking it is im probally gonna stick to it for a quite long time, so its basically for MMOs pc. My budget would be around $1000-1500, but again, the prices here are at least 2x going up to 4x prices in US.
    Last edited by rgee; 01-13-2011 at 02:29 PM.

  2. #2
    Ascendant rabb1t's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Bay Area, CA
    Posts
    2,459

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rgee View Post
    I dont think my motherboard can support a processor upgrade, can it?
    It can, but there really isn't a lot better you can do on soc 775 than the Q6600.

    Would 2-4gb more ram be any better?
    Not really. Sure, you could do it. Sure, Win 7 would nom it up. But would it improve gaming performance? Unlikely. I highly doubt it would be worth the money you'd be spending.

    My budget would be around $1000-1500, but again, the prices here are at least 2x going up to 4x prices in US.
    With that much you could scrap it and get a very solid full build (see my systems page for that), however, if you say the prices are so much more where you live than in the US your best bet may be to just upgrade the GPU and leave the rest. If prices really are all that different it's very likely only you can answer if your local prices are worth your money or not. Give my site and systems page a look, do some comparing and see what you come up with.
    **Canceled Oct '11, cannot reply on forums. Contact me through my site.**
    rabb1t.com - pc gaming hardware tech talk for everyone / rabb1t's ramblings podcast
    rabb1t's Gamer Day 2010 After Party videos
    joo can has Rift iPhone 4 and Droid wallpapers


  3. #3
    Plane Touched Tragedy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    171

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rabb1t View Post
    It can, but there really isn't a lot better you can do on soc 775 than the Q6600.



    Not really. Sure, you could do it. Sure, Win 7 would nom it up. But would it improve gaming performance? Unlikely. I highly doubt it would be worth the money you'd be spending.



    With that much you could scrap it and get a very solid full build (see my systems page for that), however, if you say the prices are so much more where you live than in the US your best bet may be to just upgrade the GPU and leave the rest. If prices really are all that different it's very likely only you can answer if your local prices are worth your money or not. Give my site and systems page a look, do some comparing and see what you come up with.
    I was in the same boat. I had an old Celeron D LG 775, but I just bought a new MOBO with and AMD 3 965 Black Edition with mobo for $230ish. Definitely not top of the line, but I just got it built up and so far it is a noticeable speed increase.

    I don't need a flag, Mr. Christian. Unlike you I still have a country. (Captain Blythe)
    In war (and PvP) it's not who's right, it's who's left.
    I will have my Vengeance. In this life or the next
    .

  4. #4
    Soulwalker
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    13

    Default

    is a 5230 a good card

  5. #5
    Ascendant Onarye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,552

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jalaiak View Post
    is a 5230 a good card
    Go for a 5770 jalaiak
    Processor: i7 920 2.7Ghz 4 Cores
    RAM: 12 GB Corsair DDR3
    Graphics Card: ATI Radeon HD 5770 1 GB
    Hard Disk: 2 TB
    Triton Gaming Headset For Ventrilo

  6. #6
    Soulwalker
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    13

    Default

    How much onboard mem?

  7. #7
    Ascendant Onarye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,552

    Default

    Mines 1gb and it runs rift great
    Processor: i7 920 2.7Ghz 4 Cores
    RAM: 12 GB Corsair DDR3
    Graphics Card: ATI Radeon HD 5770 1 GB
    Hard Disk: 2 TB
    Triton Gaming Headset For Ventrilo

  8. #8
    Soulwalker
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Ok ill think about it what site to look at one?

  9. #9
    Ascendant Onarye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,552
    Processor: i7 920 2.7Ghz 4 Cores
    RAM: 12 GB Corsair DDR3
    Graphics Card: ATI Radeon HD 5770 1 GB
    Hard Disk: 2 TB
    Triton Gaming Headset For Ventrilo

  10. #10
    Soulwalker
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    13

    Default

    ty for the help ona

  11. #11
    Ascendant Onarye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,552

    Default

    No problem man contact me in mssg for more help or post a thread ill probably end up finding it
    Processor: i7 920 2.7Ghz 4 Cores
    RAM: 12 GB Corsair DDR3
    Graphics Card: ATI Radeon HD 5770 1 GB
    Hard Disk: 2 TB
    Triton Gaming Headset For Ventrilo

  12. #12
    Soulwalker
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    13

    Default

    kk bye bra

  13. #13
    Ascendant Onarye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,552

    Default

    Yeah.... cya ?
    Processor: i7 920 2.7Ghz 4 Cores
    RAM: 12 GB Corsair DDR3
    Graphics Card: ATI Radeon HD 5770 1 GB
    Hard Disk: 2 TB
    Triton Gaming Headset For Ventrilo

  14. #14
    Rift Disciple
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Washington, USA
    Posts
    108

    Default

    I would upgrade or overclock your processor. I have an E8500 (also an LGA775 socket) clocked @ 3.8GHz and it's beast. More RAM won't do you any good, but you could definitely upgrade your graphics card as others have said. Other than that, an SSD might be nice to reduce load times, otherwise a 10000RPM velociraptor or something. Also, having that small amount of space on your harddrive will affect gameplay because games store lots of temporary data and there needs to be room on your harddrive to accommodate it.
    Zzari - Human Warrior - www.maximation.us

    Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.2GHz
    4GB Corsair XMS DDR2 PC2-8500
    1GB EVGA GTX460

+ Reply to Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts