+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Any armchair astronomers/cosmologists here?

Default Any armchair astronomers/cosmologists here?

When I was a kid the question of whether the universe would continue expanding or eventually stop expanding and contract was up in the air.

Recently I saw some news that says the universe is not only expanding, but accelerating in its expansion. So not only is there no slowdown by gravity, but something seems to be pushing everything away at a faster rate.

I'm not a physicists, just a science hobbyist and relatively well read. So I started speculating on what would cause such a thing to happen.

I feel we do not fully understand the nature of gravity at its extremes. I'm not a proponent of "dark matter" theory...it just comes across as an attempt to fill in a blank with an unknown variable that cant be tested. But given that the known universe behaves as though it has more matter in it than what it actually has (or is visible), just underscores my belief that there is a lot about gravity on the very large (and small) scale that we just dont know about.

I dont think many things in mathematics can be applied to the real world. Einstein's theories bring in concepts like "infinity" to real world scenarios, but I have always felt that there is no such thing as "infinity" in the real world.

For example; the acceleration of a body towards the speed of light will increase its mass. The faster, the more the increase until eventually you hit infinite mass which is why sub-light matter can not travel faster than light. Matter )and space) in and of itself may have properties that may break down, that prevent it from reaching these "infinites" and thus change the rules of the game at these extreme states.