+ Reply to Thread

Thread: How to get into video game design

Shadowlander

Default How to get into video game design

Hello everyone. I'm currently a student at the University of Oklahoma. I've been changing majors a lot for the past couple of years and have come back to deciding that I think I really want to design games. Unfortunately the only computer degree I can see in the degree list is computer science at OU. I was curious what kind of degree I need to find a job in the industry and perhaps some of the best places to get the degree from. Also the degree list for OU is http://www.ou.edu/go2/home/academics.html so maybe I'm just missing a degree that would cover it because it's not listed under computer something. Thanks for your help!

Plane Touched

If I wanted to be a game designer, I'd get a degree in computer science. Games are software; computer scientists design and create software. The added benefit of a computer science degree is that you aren't limited to designing video games. You could also do .Net programming or some other "boring" job to pay the bills until you could land the dream job.

You need talent, not a degree.
    From the gargoyles to stonehenge I have always been here before
    From the sphynx to the pyramids Allowing my mind's call of no love
    To Lucifer's temples praising the devil right Incorporate more never stops his flow
    To the Devil's clock as it strikes midnight I have always been here before

Game design? The key word is design.

You could take some classes for art. Over time create a portfolio of your works, submit it to game companies and hope you have talent because it's extremely competitive and when it comes to art. Talent > a piece of paper saying you paid a school to talk at you.

Unless your talking about coding, which is entirely separate.
    Last edited by Forum Troll; 03-23-2011 at 01:18 PM.
    My computer
    Proud member of the Forum Troll fan club.

Quote Originally Posted by Forum Troll View Post