+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Opinions on paid DLC?

Default Opinions on paid DLC?

Hi Rifters,

I am interested in peoples opinions on this because I just started playing Mass Effect 2 again and can't help feeling like I am playing an incomplete game. It annoys the hell outta me, I am missing a character, items and missions even after having bought the deluxe edition of the game. At the moment I am refusing to pay for any DLC on principle but it's like fighting a losing battle. I can understand them wanting to include bonuses for buying a game new and discourage resale, but selling overpriced content for an already released game is as bad as selling in game items in MMOs for real money in my opinion. I start up Mass Effect 2 and am hit by ads for the parts of my incomplete game on the launcher and the in game menu - these sold for 'Bioware Points' on their website disguising their true cost, it's kinda sickening. They make bestselling games of the year and they sink to this level?

I know I have lost a lot of respect for great developers like Bethesda and Bioware since they have started doing this. They already sell millions of copies why do they need to milk their customers further? Plenty of awesome companies used to release stuff for free as a thankyou for loyal customers but it seems those days are gone. Some of the items and characters they sell are well overpowered too (e.g. Shale for Dragon Age: Origins) and almost feel like paying to cheat in some cases.