+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree16Likes

Click here to go to the first Rift Team post in this thread.   Thread: RIFT Behind the Scenes: Chris “Tacitus” Cates

1.   This is the last Rift Team post in this thread.   #1

Default RIFT Behind the Scenes: Chris “Tacitus” Cates

Continuing our series of behind-the-scenes interviews with the RIFT Team, Community Manager Eric “Ocho” Cleaver sat down with Senior Designer Chris “Tacitus” Cates to learn all about him and his work on Instant Adventures!

Ocho : Could you please introduce yourself?

CC: Hi, I’m Chris “Tacitus” Cates. I’m a Senior Content Designer on RIFT.

Ocho: Can you tell us a little more about your handle “Tacitus”?

CC: I’m a really big fan of Roman history, and Tacitus was one of the first historians who approached history with a more objective slant (rather than glorifying his patrons), but he also had a sarcastic sense of humor I like. I do try and keep my sense of humor constructive though....

Ocho: How long have you been at Trion?

CC: It’s been about 5 and a half years now.

Ocho: Can you tell us a bit more about your job?

CC: I do a bit of everything, although I'm the main Instant Adventure guy these days. I'm not the one who came up with the idea, but as soon as I saw it I fell in love with it. I just took the idea and ran with it.

I also make a point of keeping an eye on older content, things like world events, and make sure they continue to work properly with all the other new content we introduce to the game. I like getting involved in a lot of different activities and working on lots of different kinds of things. RIFT is great that way, there’s always something different to work on.

Ocho: What are some of the things you've worked on over the years that players might recognize, aside from the recent release of Hammerknell IAs?