+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By pkudude

Thread: New to Rift, could use some help please =)

Soulwalker

Default New to Rift, could use some help please =)

Hey all!

I am new to rift and I have no idea what I'm doing! I assume I will figure out the skill points eventually, but it would be nice to have a good base to start with. I normally play rogue classes because I like DPS, but all the different souls are a bit intimidating. I would be open to trying something other than a rogue. What do you all think is good for leveling as DPS?

Any other tips/help would be greatly appreciated!
    Thanks!

I hate generic responses as much as anyone, but all the classes do very well leveling. It really comes down to what's the most fun for you. Rift's classes all have wide build options, of which you may have up to 20 per character, so chances are you're going to enjoy at least a couple of different builds for each class, were you to try them.

If you like Rogues, then try the Rogue. They are good at melee and ranged DPS, and the new Tactician soul is very good as you go around flame throwing away groups of mobs. It has plenty of PVP options, and the Bard (support/healing support) is a a lot of fun to play for many folks when a zone event boss pops up.

Try the Rogue, but don't be afraid to try the others as well. They're a lot of fun too.
    Faeblight (US PVE-RP)
    Lifemender - Cleric (65) & Oxenheart - Warrior (65) ... & friends
    Look for any toons in the Cosmic Rhinocerii "guild". They're all me!
    Don't hesitate to say "hi!" if you see me. Always looking for new Rifters to help. If you need, just ask!

Soulwalker

Here was the most useful link I found while trying to figure out what I wanted to play:

http://www.carlsguides.com/rift/

This guy goes into what the play-style is like for every soul without getting into too much detail on specific spells and abilities.

Quote Originally Posted by Bhalat View Post
    Hey all!