+ Reply to Thread

Thread: How do I want to balance my trees?

Shadowlander

Default How do I want to balance my trees?

So i just started playing rift, and I've gotten to the point where I got my 3rd soul tree. So what I'm wondering, is how do I make these synergize? Is the point to go primarily into a main tree and then take a few of the lower talents from the other 2? Or is it to max them all out? or just 2 of them? How does this end up working?

Also, I notice that a lot of the abilities I get from the various trees end up being redundant, and in some cases, it gives me an ability that doesn't seem like its worth using over another. For instance, I chose marksman and then ranger as my 1st 2 trees, each gave me an instant shot that generated a combo point, that both cost the same energy, do the same damage, and have no CD, but the one from marksman gives a speed boost when used. Then each gave a finisher, but the finisher from marks does more damage and has the speed increase effect.

I'm not really seeing how these all fit together, and I was wondering if anyone could help.

Also, for my 3rd soul, there wasn't another option for a ranged, so I picked one that was more melee focused, but had some nice perks in the lower tiers, is this how it's intended? Or how am I supposed to utilize the 3rd tree given its lack of interaction with my other 2?

The thing that is fun about Rift is that you can customize your character to fit your play style. There is no "correct" way to build/fill your trees. Yes, there may be some redundancy in some souls, so you end up just using one over the other. My rogue is a ranger/riftblade. I enjoy having my pet attack the ranged npc's while I planeshift in and take care of the melee ones. There are dozens of different builds you can check out in the Rogue subforum under classes. Some max a single soul with support in the other 2, while others balance between 2, even all 3 souls.