The Problem

Something I have noticed in my 10+ years experience in MMO’s, up to and including “hardcore” raiding in various titles, is the very real limit of game immersion and encounter dynamics faced by the inability to effectively implement, coordinate, or get people in the community on-board with the idea of real-time voice communications.

WoW has attempted to integrate this in-game with little success, and even in the more hardcore raids I have attended and helped to organize, it always seems to end up being a handful of “core” players who effectively communicate in this medium, and the majority who, for various reasons not necessarily indicating fault on their part, prefer to stick to text chat.

The problems presented by this statistical trend are obvious. In more complex fights with several active mechanics and phase transitions, it is simply not practical to “pause” the action to type out instructions or or responses in realtime via “snail chat.” Yes, eventually people learn the fights, but then it becomes more a “rinse and repeat” rather than an “increase the intelligence of AI” sort of evolution.

Furthermore, this dramatically takes away from the element of spontaneous action and immersion, which is what I myself and I'd venture most who play find enjoyable, entertaining, and rewarding about the genre, and therefor in large part constitutes what I refer to as “the wall,” or the very real limit placed on clever and forward-thinking game developers on how creatively they can develop new content.

It also places limits on the “time to burnout” factor. Ever been in a 20-man raid even months after it has been initially released, once all the "hardcores" have it on "farm," where people do intentionally stupid things just to get a chuckle (Leeeeeroy!), because it has all become so repetitive, so boring, that it is as much so as the life we play to escape? This is the ugliness of digital burnout! =P

The Dilemma