+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Here's a suggestion

Soulwalker

Default Here's a suggestion

I started playing this game because I got bored of World of Warcraft. I enjoyed four years of that game and still play it from time to time. But there is one thing that I just cannot stand and that is how far the game is from reality. I understand that it is a fantasy game, but that doesn't mean that nonsensical rules need to be implemented. Therefore, the reason I took a break from World of Warcraft is now being brought up to me when it comes time to either pay for another month of Rift, or uninstall.

Show me a time in History where you had to have a weapon or armor to purchase another piece of armor? This just doesn't make sense. So, knights would go to the blacksmiths and hand in a sword and give them foreskins (because obviously gold won't buy the gear they want) in order to get a new sharper sword? I'm pretty sure King Arthur was given Excalibur (AKA lady of the lake).
    Gold should be able to buy EVERYTHING in the game. There is not one reasonable thing in today's society where money won't buy it. Granted you may need a lot of it, but it will get it nonetheless.

Healing reduced in pvp combat? Why? Are there magical little beings intercepting part of the beneficial heal from it's target? There's no good reason why abilities should act differently in any environment. Synthetic regulations are annoying and lazy. If there's an issue with healing in pvp, work on healing AS A WHOLE. Don't make it act differently in environments. (I'm not even going to go into pvp stats, it's an exhausting argument)

When I first started Rift, I was excited. It looked like it was going to be something truly different, unique. It looked like they were going to take a logical approach to their programming and design, but as time goes on, they are just adopting ideas from other MMO's, so now there is just no reason to stay with a game that takes a stronger computer to play and offers less.