+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Devs, have you thought about this for dungeons?

Soulwalker

Default Devs, have you thought about this for dungeons?

I'm fairly new to RIFT and I admittedly don't troll the forums often because I'm much busier with RL and actually playing what I pay for (I do understand the perceived necessity to spend time here if you are bored with the game, etc). At any rate, one thing that I have read time and again in posts are comments that the game is stale, content too slow, etc.

I also read about two things that seemed to polarize some players (I'm sure there are tons more) that gave me an idea. For reference, the two forum posts were as follows:
    riftstrats
    Chronos

Players in both of these threads voiced concerns about the game becoming stale and predictable, which is honestly a fear of mine too. My idea was to add randomly-determined abilities to bosses. The way I envisioned it was using an example:
    Boss A has abilities 1,2,3,4 that he uses all of the time. They fit the flavor, lore, style, etc. of the boss. But, just like players, he has his moods and does some things differently as those moods strike him. So in this example, he may have random abilities 5,6,7 attached to him as well. At random times (or pre-set if it works better that way) or when triggered (by, say, abilities that he may hate), the boss would lash out with one of these mystery abilities, which may be anything from a hindrance to a game-changer. IT forces the players to think and react to an unknown element of surprise that will hopefully make some encounters more fun, even for those that are maxed out at 50 with nothing new to do.
    Edit: give them more abilities (say, 5-6) that they use RANDOMLY, i.e. not every fight, not all the time. A true surprise.