+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By qqmoarploxify
  • 1 Post By Burnlogic
  • 1 Post By qqmoarploxify
  • 1 Post By Burnlogic

Thread: Should I invest time into this game?

Telaran

Default Should I invest time into this game?

I love Rift, ever since I started playing back in vanilla. The start of this latest expansion though had me really down in the dumps. My questions to the community are:

Should I come back to the game and invest time into it?
    How is this new company treating the game?
    Can we foresee the game living for at least a couple more years?

I'd love to come back, I just don't want to invest time into a game that is in a perpetual state of death, if Rift is not like that now I'd love to know.

Quote Originally Posted by qqmoarploxify View Post
    I love Rift, ever since I started playing back in vanilla. The start of this latest expansion though had me really down in the dumps. My questions to the community are:

I'd love to come back, I just don't want to invest time into a game that is in a perpetual state of death, if Rift is not like that now I'd love to know.
    That's incredibly subjective.

I.e., you could start a new character and enjoy weeks of mostly unbroken content for free. But as you inevitably approach level caps and work your way through existing expansions (an inherent need for MMOs, and part of the reason why 'Prime' and progression servers never become explosively popular), you will begin to see the degradation of game quality -- sort of like playing through a timeline of Rift's development/team size-skill/collapse.

TL;DR: Sure, spend some time. Just don't spend any money until meaningful plans are set forth by Gamigo.

"But if nobody spends money, how will the game survive?"