+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree3Likes
  • 3 Post By Samuraiko

Thread: When does Rifts lore start to shine?

Soulwalker

Default When does Rifts lore start to shine?

I was a big fan of wow from vanilla - wotlk. I saw this game and it looked very similar so I thought I'd give it a shot. I started playing last night and got to level 15 (also bought my first mount! Woo). Anyway I basically started playing because I wanted that mmo feel with a new lore that I could get into.

But so far playing the game the lore isn't that interesting to me and the quests feel very repetitive. I don't mind the Q's since it's an mmo and all RPGs are like that.

I'm just wondering when do you think the lore really shines? Which zone or level range should I be looking forward to?

Which faction are you?
    The story is different if you are Guardian or Defiant, so better to make a toon in each faction. to do 1-50 storyquests (quests are the same in SL-NT-SFP zones).
    And you need to pay attention to quest text, NPC dialogs, and many little things around you. Have you explored the noob zone? it is full of bits of lore, but you need to search for them.

RIFT lore is very rich but you need to find many bits and reasemble the puzzle. Look at everything you find. Books collected have lore in them, artifacts have lore secrets in them, many things around you hidden or not give lore info.

Mathosia (1-50) has saga quests, these are the things you must aim for.
    Each zone has a storyline behind quests. Follow the NPC guiddance and you will do well.
    Carnage are mob kill without story.

the new zones (65-70) have quests with NPC following you (like in wow) and if you read what they say they make a good summary of RIFT lore for those who need help to understand the whole story.