+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree6Likes
  • 5 Post By Seelinnikoi
  • 1 Post By Kittyhawke

Thread: What goes on during downtime, technically? (software dev curious about other devs)

Default What goes on during downtime, technically? (software dev curious about other devs)

I'm a software developer and avid Rift player. I wanted to start a topic while there is a lengthy downtime happening on the NA shards about what is going on during these downtimes. Of course anyone who knows anything about computer programming would have a snarky reply to this: "The shards are compiling." However I want to elaborate on this because I don't think it really satisfies anyone, nor does it completely answer the question... I also think this will be an interesting topic for anyone else into development as well as Rift junkies that are waiting out downtime!

I have mainly worked on web servers that just host some simple application with content and database interactions (shards have this and much more). I'm assuming the process of releasing a patch or update to a web-application is a little more simpler because it (the web-application) is not as complex as a video game. I know the woe's of downtime though. One web server takes 15 minutes to get through its deploy process even if I just change 1 line of code, so I could imagine that it would take longer for 1 shard.

Here are some questions I have technical interest in, and would think it really awesome if a dev who knows about the Rift deployment process could reply.
    1. What causes some updates to take an hour, and some to take 3 hours? (I know this is really general, but any technical example of why this might happen would satisfy me)
    2. Do you guys write any behavior tests for the code and, if so, is running these tests part of the downtime? (i.e. make sure tests are passing before allowing the deployment to complete)