+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Difficulty/Reward Instance "Slider"

Telaran

Default Difficulty/Reward Instance "Slider"

I'm not a programmer, but I can imagine something like this would be pretty difficult to impliment. Trion has done some pretty amazing things that have never been seen in MMOs before, so it might be something they could eventually figure out. I'm going to go ahead and post in order to get this idea out there and see where the conversation leads.

With the expert changes in 1.2, the only thing that everyone can agree on is that there are (basically) 2 schools of opinions on whether the change was great or awful. There hasn't been much opinion (at least posted on these forums) from people outside of those two ranges. You either love the changes or hate them. As I'm sitting here at work and thinking of ways to avoid doing something that I really need to do, this got me thinking.

Now, I can appreciate that ideas like this one have probably already been posted, but again, I wanted to get this out there just in case. A solution to this issue would be a "sliding" difficulty bar for the expert instance. The difficulty would be based on overall mob HP/dmg (indluding abilities). The more difficult, the more plaques you get (for "daily" reward) and the higher percentage of getting addtional epic drops from bosses. The less difficult, the less plaques you get (for "daily" rewards) and the lower the percent of getting additional epic drops from bosses.

There would still need to be a default difficulty that could be adjusted before the first member of the group zones into the instance. Once set, it could not be changed unless you reset the instance (which would be locked to you the same as it is now). The "slider" could be implimented in several ways. Either the group leader could just set the slider or a vote could be initiated, which the results could either take the average difficulty or the majority (average would be best).