+ Reply to Thread

Thread: 2.6 Mage PvP Pyromancer / Dominator complete hybrid (38/38/0) [Is this viable?]

Soulwalker

Default 2.6 Mage PvP Pyromancer / Dominator complete hybrid (38/38/0) [Is this viable?]

Hey guys.

I am new to the whole PvP scene as I just hit 60 a few weeks ago. I've been running war fronts with a pure 61 point pyro spec for a while which seems pretty good for now. Recently, I was looking into Meduza's guide on PvPing as a pure Dominator spec and was having fun with that as well.

I'm just wondering if a 38/38/0 pyro/dominator/anything point spread will be viable enough for PvP, or if I should just keep it to the pure specs.

The build I came up with was http://www.rifthead.com/stc/zcNazxcc...vgcV00kVgrzzMz

I wanted to get enough points in dominator for the best of the soul (i feel) that isn't based on all the AE skills they get later down in the roots.

My mindset here was that I would mainly be using

Pyro Skills
    fire ball
    flame bolt (with procs)
    cinder burst (with instant procs)
    inferno
    Countdown (occasionally)

Dom Skills
    Traitorous Influence
    Storm Shackle
    Transference

I didn't get Burning Bonds from the pyro tree thinking that the diminishing return would screw it up since I have Storm Shackle already. Similarly, I picked up Death's Edict (Dom) instead of Flashfire (pyro), especially since it proc's Dominant Personality and Swift Control, which I could see being really good for fire balls.

As for utility, I have

Pyro
    Flicker (escape cc effects)
    Burn (disarm)
    Backdraft (stun)

Dom
    Death's Edict (stun)
    Transmogrify (cc)
    Thunder Blast (knock back)
    Mass Exhaustion (cc)
    Storm Shackle (root)
    Malevolent Shield (absorbs healing)

As for CD's, I have

Heatwave [pyro]
    Split Personality [dom]