+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Like Tree23Likes

Thread: Ideas for PvP: Bringing back the open-world fun

Default Ideas for PvP: Bringing back the open-world fun

So, to start things off, I started playing mid-SL on Seastone in the open-world PvP hayday, where PvP rifts were a thing, and open world PvP wasn't just a thing, but vastly fun. When PvP dailies had their place, and all it took to get a PvP raid going was to simply start trash talking in /1 when the other side could read it.

I know PvP gear could make things very lopsided, very quickly. But in those days, everyone had some valor/vengeance due to Freelancer gear being your basic welfare gear. Warlord gear was very easy to get, and Myrm only took a little longer to farm. It eventually would equal out in the bigger raid v raid battles, and it would always come down to which team had better communication. My point is, the only real time it was lopsided was when a fresh 60 would get rolled by a roaming kill team (I've been both the victim and the victimizer, so I know the pain/pleasure!).

I'm not saying bring back PvP stats, but all that's been happening recently to Rift's PvP has been reducing our options.

CQ Steppes is gone.

PvP stats are gone.

PvP dailies are gone.

PvP Rifts are gone.

In the end, open-world PvP is gone.

All that made me initially fall in love with Rift PvP is gone. Now all we have are WFs that consist of 'who has the best PvE gear', and Stillmore CQ. Two options to those of us who still enjoy Rift PvP.

Now, before some troll lol's at me and says 'you play Rift for PvP you're bad', I enjoy WFs still very much. I love being on OP PMs and even losing against other OP PMs (looking at you Trinity).

I will still continue playing Rift - I've always been a 1-MMO type of guy, and I've sunk an unhealthy amount of time into playing and getting to know and love it. I just wish Trion would stop reducing our options.

Now onto my ideas!