+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Basics of PvP Healing in Rift

Default Basics of PvP Healing in Rift

Hopefully after reading this, whether you are a veteran or a noob, you will have learned something to help you be a better healer. I am assuming that the basics of PvP are already understood (strafing, keybinding all abilities, etc.)This is more cleric specific, as I have little experience with Chloromancer or the rogue's support healing souls.

1. First and foremost, with patch 1.11, AoE healing is now junk. Healing Cataract is not going to keep people alive. Your best shot at keeping people alive is to use single target heals. I cannot tell you how many times I've seen front line fighters go down one at a time while the healers are spamming Healing Cataract. It heals for a third of what Suble Invocation does.

2. Use the /cast @mouseoverui macros. In PvP, people move around far too much to accurately cast a heal on the right target. If you use cast @mouseoverui, you can cast heals on people who you know are in range (if the swaure is lit up, they are within range) and are taking a beating. I have all of my singel target spells macroed as @mouseoverui, it makes life so much easier.

3. Don't prioritize helaing people who aren't going to contribute as much. Healing that tank warrior with 25k HP may seem like a good idea, but if you heal him he isn't going to kill anything. Only prioritize your heals on important targets like fang holders or good DPS-ers. If they are all topped off, then you can move onto lower priority targets. Make sure you don't waste heals on targets who are about to die no matter what you do, just let them die and move on to another target.

4. Try to avoid long cast times. Hard casting a 3s cast time spell on a target who is taking serious damage is not a good idea because they will usually be dead by the time you get the heal off.