+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Like Tree43Likes

Thread: What happened to progression?

Soulwalker

Default What happened to progression?

I have been playing rift almost since launch (about 12 months), two weeks after the game came out. I remember there are a time when there was an actual progression line and you had to work to even be geared enough for t2 dungeons. Took me a good amount of time and effort to be gsb ready about 11 months ago. Once you would turn 50 you would be in greens and blues of course. Then you would do regular high level dungeons such as ap and cc to get some more gear for t1 expert dungeons. Once you became t1 geared you would move up to t2 expert dungeons, and boy were they hard. After that, of course was gsb which was the only raid instance out at the time. Once GP came out, after t2 experts you would do that and then gsb.

Now you turn 50 and get expert dungeons and are even able to get not just raid marks for raid gear if you wish but you may choose t1 raid, t2 raid, or t3 raid marks. You can take huge leaps and skip a quite a big of progression. In addition, gsb used to actually be a challenge. Pugging it was not an option that all, and not just because there weren't as many geared peopel that early on. If there were, it still wouldn't have happened, at least not with a full clear. Gsb/ros has become a joke and HK is getting to the point where it will probably be pretty pugable soon.

If you start an alt or even just start from scratch, you can easily be doing (and clearing) t1 raids pretty quickly with little effort.