Closed Thread

Thread: Raiding and Consumables

Default Raiding and Consumables

For veteran raiders, different consumables are probably nothing new, but if you're fresh to raiding the idea (or the available options) might be foreign. I remember when I first started raiding, which was in another MMO, I didn't use consumables because I didn't know I had the option to. Even as a noob, I wanted to do everything I possibly could to be considerate to my fellow raiders. Then one day, when my raid team was hitting its head against a boss, my best mage friend opened trade with me and gave me a Vial. I read the description and asked him if should use it right then. "Yes, absolutely." And I've stocked up on consumables since.

I view consumables as a form of customization, like gearing, or runecrafting. Each encounter is different, and by toting around a lot of consumable items I can customize my character for the demands of different bosses. It's infinitely cheaper than swapping out runes each fight and ideal if you don't have different gear sets. To me, finding the perfect combination of food, Vial and trinket so that I'm most effective as a healer, is one of my favorite games inside the game.

It's important to know that:
    • Potions, Serums and Philters don't share a cooldown.
    • Serums and Vials stack with player buffs
    • Philters DON'T stack with player buffs
    • Assault serums and Fortified Serums don't share a cooldown

Let's look at the different options we have.

POTIONS AND TONICS

A potion could be seen as a consumable medicin instantly giving you mana or health, or even giving you a damage shield. Tonics give you an over Time heal or mana.

Some interesting potions to bring to the raid are:

PHILTERS

Philters are a type of potion which can be thrown, dealing damage to or healing players within a certain area. There is also a philter that gives a 30 seconds buff and other ones that buff people raidwide, but sadly it doesn't stack with players buffs.