+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Feendish

Thread: Faen's Retreat vs. Dormant Core

Shadowlander

Default Faen's Retreat vs. Dormant Core

Hi everyone
    I'm sorry I keep posting silly questions, but I'm finally getting into dimensions really and so many things keep coming to mind!

So, my question (opinion question really): In terms of aesthetics/buildibility (is that a word?), which do you all like the best: Faen's Retreat or Dormant Core? I have a nice build idea for each of the spaces, and can not decide which one to start on first. This would be my first build, so I'm still learning the tricks of placing items, but I can get better as I go along. I know Dormant Core is absolutely huge, and holds a lot of potential for a fun build. But it also requires a lot more effort and resources to fill it properly. I happened to buy some random dimension boxes, and got quite a few "exotic" plants that would work well in the core, but I'm still not sure it's the easiest for someone just starting. (My other thought was a "practice" build in the starter home to get the feel for things).

It's a bit of a vague, open-ended question, I know, but it's nagging at me badly and I didn't know where else to ask :P Any opinions, thoughts, stray ideas are appreciated!

**Side note: Does anyone know if they buffed the random dimension boxes? I know several people said they weren't worth purchasing, but I gave it a gamble and ended up with only about 7 rocks out of the 11 boxes, 2 purple items and the orange quality Magitech Orrery.**

IMO, the challenge with Dormant Core is managing the space and the challenge with Faen's is managing the terrain. Both are pretty huge for first builds so having a theme/concept will help. In terms of mystery boxes, they are a gamble; some folks are luckier than others.