+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By catonmylap
  • 1 Post By Asyljo

Thread: Best lvling Spec?

Soulwalker

Default Best lvling Spec?

Hi I'm pretty new to the game. I pvp mostly but was wondering what would be the best lvling spec

While assassin is fun for sneaking past stuff (handy to switch into to short circuit large trash packs in quests), and ranger would be the safest way to level because of the ranged abilities and tank pet, it might be worth considering things like bladedancer and nightblade as well (both have solid single target and AoE). Not sure how each compares levelling up from scratch. Ranger might be the easiest place to start. Ranger is, however, the weakest DPS spec at max level.
    De techniek staat voor niets
    **Rift Video Compendium**<---this be old and dates back to alpha

Rift Disciple

"Best" != "easiest"

tl;dr: Learn something useful, don't just focus on easiest fast-track to 70. It's quite sad that many people who play this game only know one mediocre soloing spec at level 70.

Ranger is supposedly the easiest spec for leveling, but it's pretty much useless for anything other than really slow solo questing. Einstein's observation that "every problem has an answer that is simple, obvious and wrong" applies to ranger.

Bard is a viable leveling spec, and also teaches the basics of support and some group healing, great for group play as well. Bard still makes a number of great hybrids, so greatly adds to your versatility. It won't do massive dps, it's a bit slow, but a good soul to know for end game.

Marksman is not a very good leveling spec. Plenty of single target offense, and speed to kite melee mobs while killing, but it's a coin toss vs ranged opponents or any place you cannot stay at range. Utility at end game/pvp varies over time, currently it's at relatively low point: MM can raid atm, but it's behind the next couple of choices by a fair amount.