+ Reply to Thread

Thread: DPS in TD

Default DPS in TD

So I am pretty new to rift. I love the different specs for rogue and have played around with alot of them. I have all souls except shadeborn, will get soon, but id like to know what others are using in TD. My gear is pretty low but I have some nice pieces hete and there and am moving along my eternal weapon quest (working on minion). Since im new and lower geared I dont think I would help my guild much as heal or bard at this point and certainly not ready for tank. That being said what is everyone using for dps? MM serms easiest but lacks dps imo. Id really like to do melee. Ive seen some decent rogues using a Sin build but no one has been using BD at least in my groups. a ton still go MM. Any thoughts? Thanks!

Champion

MM is played by most newer / casual players because it still does okay-ish dps and is relatively simple to play / very forgiving in terms of rotational mistakes / macroing. It is also the only true ranged option for rogues right now. I won't talk about the RFS bug because it's unreliable and will get patched soon (TM). Ironically, MM was in a much better place before 4.0 hit, but I digress.

The only competitive spec rogues have right now for all gear levels is sin. Current best build has some ranged functionality too. Plenty of info on builds and such in the class guides section on here.

BD is very straightforward right now, but also highly gear dependent. Even with the eternal weapon first proc on my rogue toon and mostly expert gear with orbs / 70 essences / pretty bad fragments, the most I can hit is like 280k st for dummy. But I've heard it explodes as you get better gear / fragments, so if you plan on sticking with your rogue and gearing it further / continue to upgrade fragments, it's definitely worth having /learning.