+ Reply to Thread

Thread: [Help?] What exactly is this rouge thing?

Soulwalker

Default [Help?] What exactly is this rouge thing?

I'm brand new to Rift, and I've started playing a rogue. Of course it was mostly because on my previous games I loved archers, but I've never exactly played any game where archers had swords also. I'm very confused on this whole balance between melee and ranged.
    1.) My swords are doing horrible damage (my soul trees are ranger marksmen and sabetour) is there any way to increase damage?
    2.) As someone who's playing for the ranged aspect of a rogue, is there any specfic stat traits to look for?
    3.) Do rogues use spell power?
    4.) Why does it seem no body wants me in an instance as a dmg rogue?

Thanks for any help given

Quote Originally Posted by CrystalGhost View Post
    1.) My swords are doing horrible damage (my soul trees are ranger marksmen and sabetour) is there any way to increase damage?
    Those three Souls you have in that Role are all ranged, therefore the swords are only "stat" sticks and you shouldn't be meleeing mobs.

Focus more on your gun/bow stats for ranged mostly, now if you reversed it around and made a melee spec like Assassin-- Bladedancer or something, then the stats on your swords/daggers become very important and your bow/gun become the "stat" sticks.

It's not to say equip poor swords/daggers for ranged or equip poor guns/bows for melee but more use the ranged weapons for ranged builds and use the melee weapons for, you guessed it, melee roles

Soulwalker

I've been trying to, but it seems I get way more agro then my pet, and instantly pull mobs to me, thus spamming a "Invalid weapon" message due to the fact my swords are pulled out. Any advice?

Soulwalker

I've been trying to, but it seems I get way more agro then my pet, and instantly pull mobs to me, thus spamming a "Invalid weapon" message due to the fact my swords are pulled out. Any advice?