+ Reply to Thread

Thread: tact/ranger?

Soulwalker

Default tact/ranger?

I just started playing as a tact/MM and was wondering about how well a tact/ranger would work out? All the guides I have read do not mention tact/ranger.
    I was thinking that since you get a tank pet as ranger, it may be more helpful??

I dunno, just wondering what others think or have tried that work for them. I am still new to the rogue class, and usually play a DPS/tank warrior so I kinda suck at it atm.

Razorbeast is made out of cardboard, unfortunately.

Tact by itself is moderately terrible at single-target DPS, and Razorbeast can't really handle multiple enemies unless you are significantly overgeared (and/or babysitting him with heals and thus losing a ton of your DPS). Moreover, Ranger doesn't really provide Tact with useful, synergistic DPS boosts like MM does, so you don't really gain much outside of the pet, either.

Long story short, I don't see the combination being especially worthwhile.

The reason you use Marksman with Tactician is because the skills synergise very well. Most of the Marksman talents boost Tactician damage.

Contrary to that, Ranger has little synergy and while the prospect of a tank pet might be tempting, the reality is quite different. For leveling and soloing add a smattering of Rifstalker (8 points) to make your life easier.

Soulwalker

Quote Originally Posted by Zazen View Post
    The reason you use Marksman with Tactician is because the skills synergise very well. Most of the Marksman talents boost Tactician damage.

Contrary to that, Ranger has little synergy and while the prospect of a tank pet might be tempting, the reality is quite different. For leveling and soloing add a smattering of Rifstalker (8 points) to make your life easier.
    So you seem to know what you're doing. Could you provide me with a quick little guide for rogue leveling? Just maybe a good tactician build and basic rotation or anything else you want to add?