+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Potential New Player - Bard

Soulwalker

Default Potential New Player - Bard

Hello all.I have been browsing through the forums after discovering the website. My background is EQ/DAOC/GW2. What grabbed my attention was someone mentioned that Rift bard was similar to EQ Bard. My EQ Bard was my favorite character. EQ2 had similar 2 classes but they didn't have the run speed of EQ Bard.

Do Rift Bards have a noticeable run speed increase? Looking through some character builders I only noticed a run speed buff of 15% ?

I prefer pvp play. I see there are a ton of potential builds. In general is a Bard competitive in pvp? Especially as a solo roamer/duo (does that even apply in Rift?)

Quote Originally Posted by carumba View Post
    Do Rift Bards have a noticeable run speed increase?
    Not really. You can pick up a short-duration speed boost if you take Marksman as a subsoul (5 second duration, 30 second cooldown), but aside from Anthem of Competence, you don't get any persistent speed boost.

I prefer pvp play. I see there are a ton of potential builds. In general is a Bard competitive in pvp? Especially as a solo roamer/duo (does that even apply in Rift?)
    Bard is a support spec. It has pretty low damage and mediocre AoE heals. It only really shines in large-scale combat where there are lots of people that can benefit from your raid buffs. That kind of battle is common in some warfronts and very rare in others.

Roaming PvP is a thing that doesn't really happen all that much. Bards aren't particularly noteworthy in 1v1-- in general, if you get into a fight like that, you'll just CC the other guy and walk away.