+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 14 1 2 3 4 5 11 ... LastLast
Like Tree11Likes

Thread: Tactician still a viable PvE spec post update

Soulwalker

Default Tactician still a viable PvE spec post update

I am new to the tactician and really enjoying it right now. Have been reading all of the changes to its DPS and am concerned this will become a support class rather than a DPS class.

Once the update hits, is it still a viable spec for someone that plays a DPS role in PVE groups? Have been playing the Mage class, but debating on making the shift to Tactician, Tactman specifically.

thanks for help.

It doesn't look like it will remain the top choice for AE dps.

RIFT Guide Writer

If the nerf goes live then tactman will be about 15-20% behind other aoe specs in dps. It's not going to be viable.

Rift Disciple

Quote Originally Posted by Gery View Post
    If the nerf goes live then tactman will be about 15-20% behind other aoe specs in dps. It's not going to be viable.
    And tact healing is probably going to be about 15-20% lower than bards.

Guess it becomes a 5 pt soul then.

Quote Originally Posted by Solates View Post
    And tact healing is probably going to be about 15-20% lower than bards.

Guess it becomes a 5 pt soul then.
    Even on live, Tactician can do extremely high heals-per second, much higher than a bard. I used to run it on Crucia in my old guild because we were short on clerics, and I'd usually end up far above the chloro and just below the warden. I'm sure that various changes since then has probably jostled that balance around quite a bit, but it should still be able to mop the floor with Bard in the right circumstances.