Closed Thread

Thread: Rogue Tanking - Storm Legion Experts

Soulwalker

Default Rogue Tanking - Storm Legion Experts

I didn't want to clutter up the Riftstalker tanking guide with this question, so I'm posting it here. I'm fairly new to Rift, having joined during the Raptr event in May, but I've done tanking in several other MMOs.

I'm currently in Storm Legion experts; technically, I'm overgeared, as I have 400+ hit and 400 toughness, but I'm still getting hit like a truck by mobs. I'm keeping my buffs and debuffs up but I rely heavily on using my cooldowns.

Is this normal for rogue tanking? I've never had to rely this heavily on cooldown abilities in prior games and it worries me that I'm doing something wrong.

Stats wise, I have ~42k health, 43% damage reduction from armor (that sounds hideously low), 4% parry, 22% deflect and 3% dodge.

I appreciate any insight or suggestions. Thanks.

Plane Walker

Yes, the mobs in SL experts hit like a truck until you are significantly over geared.

42K health is an obscenely low number to be tanking experts with. If you have that kind of health, it sounds to me like you only have the 4 toughness pieces, and everything else it DPS gear. That, and you source engine/sigil sounds like it's under geared as well.

You should be aiming for 50-55K health self buffed to "comfortably" tank experts (you'll still get hit like a truck, but you'll have some buffer for your healer and won't have to constantly use a CD).

Work on filling out your source engine/sigil with endurance heavy essences (you do have a dedicated tank engine, right?), and getting the crafted rings, helm, and belt made with Stellar Rugged augments (about 250p per item).

Also, what is the spec you're using? It is the 61/8/7 RS/Rngr/Bard spec in the guide, right?

Quote Originally Posted by Caldorian View Post