• 1 Post By Gynxz
  • 1 Post By Raynald
  • 2 Post By Dhamp
  • 1 Post By Mayi
  • 1 Post By Redcruxs

Thread: 12 questions from a new player

Telaran

Default 12 questions from a new player

I'm new to the game (~3 months) and I have a few questions for the more experienced and knowledgeable players.

1. I see that target dummies come in many different flavors/levels. Is there a specific kind of target dummy that people are using when comparing their DPS? Does it matter? In SL, is TB the only place to find dummies?

2. I installed a bunch of different DPS meter addons. For whatever reason, they all seem to produce slightly different results. Is there a consensus as to which one produces the most accurate results?

3. Is there an addon or program that will tell me what kind of rotation someone is using?

4. Is there an addon or program that will tell me someone else's stats?

5. How much does planar attunement affect DPS? I'm only about half way to max right now. I've been mainly focusing on +Dex/AP. I picked up the +AP weapon buff which I have on all the time. I'm curious how much DPS I'm missing out on by not being maxed.

6. How much does latency affect DPS? I'm running an average of 100ms.

7. What does "clipping" mean? And what's the main reason for doing this?

8. Is there an addon that will give me a nice real-time summary of abilities that a mob or boss is using, how much damage the abilities are doing, how often they are occurring, etc?

9. When people say "raid buffed", what does this mean exactly? What's the difference between the buffs you'd have in a raid vs the buffs you'd have in a 5-man? What are some of the essential buffs that every rogue should be using?

10. This one is a bit vague. I see a lot of item stat comparison but I rarely see any talk about weapon DPS. How important is weapon DPS vs all other stats.

11. I missed out on the conquest trinket. What are my options? Skull of Damnation? Spectral Hand?