+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Bard support

Default Bard support

Hey. I'm relatively new to the game (A couple weeks in, 53 Rogue atm.) and I've settled in to the fact that I enjoy playing support more than any other role (I like buffing and debuffing). I just wanted to ask what the forums thoughts are on the recent bard nerfs and where that puts bard in terms of a support role. I didn't think it was that bad and I didn't mind the healing nerfs honestly. My only upset was what they did with Verse of Vitality.

Anyway, I was looking at Archon mage, and that seemed like an amazing support soul to do next. Trying to compare the two, which do you think is better to have in a group? How do you think the bard stands as of today? Also, do you think 61 Bard is a waste to do? Anyway, I appreciate any responses in advanced! Nice to meet the forums!
    Last edited by Kruce; 11-21-2012 at 12:49 PM.

Bard and Archon fill somewhat of two different types of support role. Archon (and similarly, Beastmaster) provides buffs and debuffs as well as single-target DPS, where Bard is more flexible and can provide either DPS or healing on top of the buffs and debuffs. Both bring necessary buffs to larger raids, and both can also be viable in as small as 5-man groups, but Archon does not fit the 5-man group support healing role, it fills more of a DPS role that happens to have buffs in that scenario.

In summary: Bard can fill different roles in a 5-man group, and brings unique buffs to larger raids. Archon can only buff/debuff and DPS (better single-target than a Bard), and brings buffs to larger raids that can alternatively be covered by Beastmaster, as long as there is a Bard covering the debuffs.

Soulwalker